Catch up on stories from the past week (and beyond) at the Slashdot story archive

 



Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Games Entertainment

Star Wars: Galaxies Preview 224

Posted by Hemos
from the will-it-be-worth-the-money dept.
LukeG writes "Ferrago.co.uk has just gone live with a brand new preview of Lucas Arts' upcoming MMORPG, Star Wars: Galaxies. This game represents what could turn out to be the most popular online universe ever-created, especially if Everquest creators Verant can deliver the goods as fans hope. "
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Star Wars: Galaxies Preview

Comments Filter:
  • by MathJMendl (144298) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @07:06PM (#2997373) Homepage
    Man, what is with all this hype for everything lately? Everyone is saying "this will be the best game/movie/music" before it even comes out! It happened before with Harry Potter and LOTR, which were both good, but received automatic 10 ratings / two thumbs up before even coming out!!

    I say we wait until something comes out, and *then* applaud it.
  • by Twister002 (537605) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @07:22PM (#2997484) Homepage
    ...is why you would want to play a game based on an epic series where you don't get to be a main character.

    It's like playing a hobbit in the shire in a LOTR MMORPG. Big deal. All these world shattering events are occuring and you're pulling weeds out from between your toes.

    So what if you get to play a stormtrooper in the Empire? you can't REALLY make a big difference in the game because you already know that Lando is going to blow up the death star. You can only be a "big fish in a little pond" in a way. Sure, you can be the biggest despot on the planet you control, but so what?

    Games like "Asherons Call" and even "Everquest" would seem to be a little more fun. There is a chance that you could be the one that casts the ancient sepll that sends the evil back to where it came, or you could be the one that becomes the biggest source of evil in the world.

    Not to mention the fact that MMORPG means you have to interact with other people online. bleh. I've had my fill of 10 year olds trash talking in CS and Quake. Who needs some skeezoid playing a wookie to start following you around, picking you up and shaking you for change every chance he gets?
  • Re:No hope (Score:2, Insightful)

    by TeraCo (410407) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @07:32PM (#2997537) Homepage
    Hey, Tie Fighter was brilliant. Shame about all of the sequels though..
  • by Twister002 (537605) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @08:17PM (#2997716) Homepage
    Exactly my point, if I'm going to play a fantasy game. I don't want it to BE like real life. I WANT to be the guy that storms the Normandy beach and LIVES. I want to be the Jedi that defeats Darth Vader. Not the janitor that cleans up after the bounty hunters bachelor party.
  • Re:No hope (Score:5, Insightful)

    by Lumpy (12016) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @08:29PM (#2997773) Homepage
    The best game to ever come from LucasArts is SAM and MAX.

    any game that is so funny you piss your pants the first time you play it is a winner in any book.
  • Some thoughts (Score:2, Insightful)

    by BelDion (109503) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @08:51PM (#2997883) Homepage Journal
    Ok, so we set a MMORPG in the Star Wars universe. Sounds Good. What do you immediately think? "Wow, I can play a budding Jedi like Luke Skywalker!" or "I'm gonna be a cool bounty Hunter like Boba Fett".

    Now think about it, what's gonna happen when everyone logs in to create their characters? That's right, everyone will be playing the same couple of types of characters. Joe-Everybody will want to be a Jedi master and Jane-Everybody else will be walking around dressed like Fett. I mean, who's gonna log on and think "Hey, I've got to try being a farmer like Luke's uncle!" It's the Star Wars universe, come on, it's cool and sci-fi'y!

    And now for something completely different:

    Star Wars MMORPG: $60
    Online account: $10/month
    New Computer to run sys requirements: $1500
    The ability to use the phrase "Feel the Force, B*tch!" in a Star Wars environment after fragging someone: Priceless

    There some things money can't buy. For everything else, there's Visa.(What, I hate MC!)
  • by Twister002 (537605) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @08:56PM (#2997921) Homepage
    Well I understand the concept of being just one person in a big world trying to make a difference. That's the point of World War II online.

    But the main difference there is, there wasn't ONE person or a small group of people that were the reason the Nazis were defeated. It was all of the soldiers in the field, dying and trying.

    With Star Wars, no matter how hard the guys in the X-Wing flew it still took Luke to defeat the emperor and Lando to blow up the DS.

    I don't think a game called "Mediocrity" would sell very well.

    "Mediocrity. The only online MMORPG that lets you be the bartender at the club, or the waitress at Hooters."

    The millions playing WWII online ARE important, and the millions playing EQ or AC have the possibility of being important. I just don't see the point with Star Wars. At least even in the Star Trek universe you would have the possibility of playing a large role in a major storyline. The Star Trek universe is much more open ended.

    Maybe if the SW MMORPG was set after the Empire was overthrown it would make more sense.
  • Modems? (Score:3, Insightful)

    by Scooter (8281) <owenNO@SPAMannicnova.force9.net> on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @10:11PM (#2998128)
    I got the distinct impression the reviewer (or previewer?) is not familair with the subject matter - I mean what was that bit about modems about? "[the game] will use modems" ?? what for exactly? Or did he mean that er.. players who use modems to connect to an ISP will be erm.. using them still when they play this game?

    And the fact that you created your own character seemed a revelation to this guy - even though he claimed knowledge of Everquest and a whole bunch of other games. Ever heard of "role playing"?? hehe and then the final shock news - they'll be charging for it! Well er duh! do ya think?

    Still - the game looks nice - hell if game models and rendering get much better, Lucasfilm will be able to shoot Episode III in the damm game :)
  • by CAIMLAS (41445) on Tuesday February 12, 2002 @10:32PM (#2998215) Homepage
    A troll? Maybe, but I'll bite...

    Star Wars was -not- originally about selling something more - it was about making something new and fresh. From where I sit, this looks to be more of the latter.

    First off, Galaxies is set between Episode IV and V, so it's true to the Trilogy - catering to (you guessed it!) the older audience that actually saw the Trilogy when they were younger/growing up, not the children you speak of that bought whatever those spinoff games were from Ep1. I'm sure you'd agree that the making of, say, Pod Racer, isn't anything similar in intensity as Galaxies. I doubt that many 'children' would have the ability to pay the subscription fees, nor that many parents have the will or money to pay that for their kids to play games - though, I suspect there are many parents that would pay that for themselves. :) And the topic of whether a child would want to sit and build a character from the ground up (we're speaking, say, sub-12 years of age category here, I think - or roughly approximating) for hours and hours on end instead of playing Pod Racer is insane. The rare and far between, but really - since when has anyone gotten rich by exploiting the 'rare and far between' individuals?

    I can understand your bitterness concerning Episode I - hey, we're all with you on that one. It sucked elephant. This game doesn't seem to be of the same quality; at least not yet.
  • by scuba_steve11111 (527744) <scuba_steve11111NO@SPAMyahoo.com> on Wednesday February 13, 2002 @12:13AM (#2998640) Homepage
    "Mediocrity. The only online MMORPG that lets you be the bartender at the club, or the waitress at Hooters." its called 'the Sims'

"No job too big; no fee too big!" -- Dr. Peter Venkman, "Ghost-busters"

Working...