Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Role Playing (Games) Media Movies

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Preview 153

Posted by Zonk
from the high-def-spiky-blonde-hair dept.
Daemon writes "Daeya.org has put up the first part of a preview of the new Final Fantasy movie. Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children will be released in DVD format. The story takes place two years after Earth was saved from Meteor at the end of Final Fantasy VII." Great report, but it's very spoiler heavy. Be warned.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Preview

Comments Filter:
  • Huh... (Score:4, Funny)

    by catbertscousin (770186) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:07PM (#10615131)
    Maybe it's just me, but I still think it sounds strange to have a Final Fantasy VII - I guess the first one wasn't so final after all.
    • Re:Huh... (Score:4, Interesting)

      by yamcha666 (519244) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:27PM (#10615252)

      I've always been fascinated over why Square Soft chose Final Fantasy as the name of the series back in the late-80's when they developed Final Fantasy 1 for the NES.

      Back then, Square Soft wasn't doing too good financially, and the idea of closing up shop was being floated around. So, Hironobu Sakaguchi, godfather of FF, decided to go out with a bang, and create a wild, adventurous role playing game, and dubbed it "Final Fantasy" as in Square Soft's Final game if you will.

      And who would have known that Final Fantasy 1 would resurrect Square Soft and the entire series would turn Square Soft into a legend in the field of console role playing games.

      *drooling* Final Fantasy 6 .... mmmmmm

      • *drooling* Final Fantasy 6 .... mmmmmm

        Preach, brother!
      • Actually, that story is one of the urban legends of the Final Fantasy fanbase. It was once "disproved", by the fact that Squaresoft wasn't actually in any kind of financial trouble at the time. Then again, my sources probably aren't any better than yours. Wikipedia backs up your story at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Final_Fantasy, but then again there aren't any sources available.
      • Re:Huh... (Score:2, Informative)

        by michaelnz (701047)
        I was at the a game show in Tokyo last friday and there were a few other sneak peaks that we got a look at. There is going to be a new Final Fantasy 7 universe game, but it's not Advent Children. Instead it's based around the character Vincent. It has a definite gothic flavor to it and seems like it may not be turn based.

        The second is the Final Fantasy 7 mobile phone game which looks awesome and fun. It takes place before the original and seems to really flesh out some of the side characters.

        I'm a little
        • It's not very surprising considering for many FFVII is the peak of the series (with the main contestant for that title being FFVI). Any links to websites that may have information on Vincent's new game?
      • by Osty (16825)

        Historically, the Final Fantasy games have always been set in different worlds (carrying over constants like a character named Sid/Cid, chocobos, airships, sometimes light/element crystals, Bahamut, etc). The world in FF2j is not the same as FF1, nor is the world in FF3e/6j the same as in FF2e/4j or FF5j. The plot is fairly formulaic -- something has/will happen to the world, and it's up to a scrappy band of heroes to save the day. In the end, the world is changed, evil is banished forever, and everybody

  • by kmmatthews (779425) <krism@mailsnare.net> on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:09PM (#10615141) Homepage Journal
    That will buy this for the hot chicks in it? :)
  • Is it just me, or does the numbering system for the Final Fantasy games/movies seem completely random now?
    • by Anonymous Coward
      It would seem odd, but they aren't real sequels... normally.

      Final Fantasy VII - Advent Chil'rens takes place after what happens in Final Fantasy VII, in the same world. And is thus a sequel.

      Final Fantasy X-2 takes place after what happens in Final Fantasy X, in the same world. It's a real sequel. I haven't played it, X was alright but the story seemed like shit at times. And the voice acting was annoying.

      The first Final Fantasy through the tenth are just games made by the same company that share sim
    • But I remember the numbering schemes being even more confusing with the Mega Man and Street Fighter games.
    • Is it just me, or does the numbering system for the Final Fantasy games/movies seem completely random now?

      Well, it's not the only one. Some games are numbered 1, 2, 3D, 3D-Atomic, Time-to-Kill, Zero-Hour, Land-of-the-Babe, Max Payne, 4-Ever (aka. Forever), so the FF numbering seems pretty tame to me...
    • Look at the numbering system for a good majority of linux distrobutions.... 1;2;3;5;6;6.1;6.2;6.3;7;8;8.1;9;10 (or something similar to that)
    • The numbering system was originally confusing because of the Japanese releases that never made it to America and Squaresoft's attempt to cover this up. Now that Square-Enix is throwing out actual sequels they can't just bump the number up, they have to append additional junk to the title like in X-2.

      My feeling is that the franchise is getting out of hand these days and is becoming diluted, there will still be tons of fanboys out there but Square-Enix is losing some because of the growing ridiculousness of
      • Yeah.

        I firmly believe that the FF series jumped the shark when they went 3D.

        That might not have been the reason for the shark jumping, but since seven they just seem to get more annoying each time.
        • I disagree - FF7 was the last one that I enjoyed, but it was really not one of my favorites... And besides, FF7 was more or less the same as the last 6 with a better engine for tiles and an occasional FMV.

          Above that, I really think it was voice acting that did it. Graphics wise for their time in the games industry, Square has always been ahead of the curve. I remember the awe looking at graphics in FF6 that nowadays people put on t-shirts to look "retro". Of course, back then these people were more interes
  • hmm (Score:3, Insightful)

    by ImTheDarkcyde (759406) <ImTheDarkcyde@hotmail.com> on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:11PM (#10615151) Journal
    this is one movie im really looking forward to, i just hope I don't have to wait for PSP to come out and get it on a little UMD...
  • Too late (Score:4, Funny)

    by News for nerds (448130) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:15PM (#10615187) Homepage
    >All Content are Copyrighted to Daeya.org and
    >Square-Enix and may not be duplicated anywhere
    > else without written consent of Daeya.org.

    I bet this Daeya.org would be burnt down by a lawyer's megaflare summoned by SquareEnix in a few days.
  • by Reaper9889 (602058) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:17PM (#10615205)
    The team had an
    average 0 hour of sleep in the last 2 days.
    Why do they call it an average? Its not as if they could reach 0 hour if one of them slept anyway...
  • Halo: The Movie (Score:2, Interesting)

    by Gogela (750552)
    With the convergence of the film and game industries, isn't it only a matter of time? I certainly hope so. Maybe we'll see Halo the movie come out in tandem with Halo 3! If they can get Milla Jovovich play Cortana, it'll be a box office smash.

    • Be careful what you wish for. Remember:
      Resident Evil
      Tomb Raider
      FF:Spirits Within
      • by HaloZero (610207) <protodeka@@@gmail...com> on Sunday October 24, 2004 @06:02PM (#10616049) Homepage
        Don't forget about Wing Commander. Ho-ly shite...
      • A game has to at least pretend it has an intriguing plot before it can be made into a successful movie. So your Street Fighter, Tomb Raider, Wing Commander, etc, are definitely out.

        A movie that adopts the title of a game but bears no resemblence other than to attract a cursory fandom of the company who builds said game should be out as well. Strike Final Fantasy. (Although I did see it, but that's my fault for being a fan)

        Resident Evil, well, it sounds like they just fucked up - that could have been prett
    • I thought someone already did this [redvsblue.com]. Not Microsoft-sponsered, of course.
    • ...just keep Jen Taylor as Cortana?
  • Spoiler Review (Score:4, Informative)

    by Pheonix5000 (661842) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:28PM (#10615254) Homepage
    This isn't just a spoiler, it's someone retelling the entire movie!

    Why? Doesn't anyone think that this place will have their arse sued off for giving all this away? :shrug:
    • Can you get sued for telling someone the ending to a movie?

      Trinity dies.

      Bring on the lawsuits.
    • To a person who never played a FF game nothing in that "report" makes sense, spoilers or no spoilers. What the hell is the following supposed to mean?

      As

      Tifa says that, the shot switches to Cloud, in a desolate field, sitting on Fenrir, listening to his messages on a cell phone.

      I am not exaggerating - to someone who never played those games, the spoilers are a load of gibberish, just some random people doing some random things. The big question, of course, is why such a person would bother to read this

  • by sosuke (789685)
    so when is gonna be released? i cant find the date!
  • This is spoilers but the review really makes it look like the (un)worthy follow-up to "Spirits Within," except even cornier. Even the review is just painful to look at. Read it and weep:

    All three (3) silver-haired characters are there with Kadaj giving a speech about going against the Planet. He claims that the geostigma is a gift from the Planet that fills their hearts with doubt and racks their body with pain, not letting them fight. Cloud finding Tifa in Aerith's Church He claims that he will heal th
    • The only thing Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children has in relation to Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within is the evolved CG technology it uses. The Producer and Company is different, now it is Square-Enix. In Addition, the text you just quoted without source is copyrighted to Daeya.org, we clearly stated that no parts may be reproduced. If you do for review, please at least link to the source. At last, this is something some fans would not want to read, it is a spoiler. Thank you.
    • Uh,

      If you haven't played the game, this makes no sense.

      If you have, it's almost verbatim, taken from the game.

      I will say that FF has gone down the tubes since they introduced voice acting. You can infer from that what you want.
  • by Conspiracy_Of_Doves (236787) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @03:57PM (#10615388)
    or did anyone else feel a sharp agonizing pain in thier side when they read the words "Final Fantasy movie [imdb.com]"?
  • by ShatteredDream (636520) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @04:01PM (#10615412) Homepage
    Mainstream American audiences don't like anything that is really heavy on fantasy or sci fi, generally speaking, unless it has one of two things: spectacular visuals or has a plot that might as well be a fantasy/sci-fi take on modern day issues. LOTR and SW e 4-6 had the former, old Star Trek had the latter.

    Don't get me wrong, I am salivating at the thought of getting my grubby mits on this after looking at the shots taken from it, and I was there opening night for Final Fantasy the movie. Just don't be surprised if this never gets anywhere in America. Imagination and the average American tend to be something akin to mortal enemies.
  • by LanMan04 (790429) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @04:05PM (#10615432)
    a movie version of Final Fantasy II? IMHO FFII had the best plot of all the FFs, and it doesn't have all the anime-esque/techno stuff tossed into it (I'm sorry, I could never get very into FFVII VIII or X). Seriously, Cecil and his battle with his inner demons (and emerging as a paladin), Rydia the summoner, great quest, airships, dwarves, elemental demons, the death of Palum and Porum early on in the flick (shocker!), it would be awesome!! Hell, I was so into that game when I was 12/13 I was depressed for a week after finishing it.

    And PLEASE PLEASE, no long, weird, poorly translated speeches about the nature of the human soul or philosophy, a-la Ghost in the Shell.
    • That's Final Fantasy 4. The atrociously bad first English translation of it (the American SNES version) was released under the title "Final Fantasy 2" in the U.S. to avoid confusing "stupid American consumers", because the real Final Fantasy 2 and 3 hadn't been released in English. In addition to being released under the wrong name, the difficulty level was reduced considerably from the real version, the translation was a horrid mess, and the dialog was heavily censored ("spoony bard", anyone?) to make th
      • A lot of the original japanese roms, if you can still find them, have been translated by fans.

        For those that want to experience the original, I highly suggest going that route.

        Also, the japanese-only releases have been translated as well - please don't cite that PSX B.S. that square released to make an extra buck. It really doesn't compare.
      • Oh come one now, "You Spoony Bard!" was one of the best lines from any video game ever.
    • long, extraordinary, well translated speeches about the nature of humanity?
    • Because it'd be LONG. If you need a refresher, heres a quickie from start to when they first enter the underworld. Highlights or parts you cannot skip.

      1. Cecil and Kain deliever the package/fire ring to the summoner town. Got the whole guilt trip here.
      2. Meets Yang, fights Kain, meet Golbez for the first time, fails to defend the crystal, gets seperated after the boat sinks. Way too much here, cannot be skipped considering you can do this in less than 30 minutes if you know exactly who to talk to and what t

  • by Vash_066 (816757) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @04:30PM (#10615568)
    I still curse the name Sephiroth to this day!! Damn him for what he did to Aeris!! I spent all that time getting her levels up...then wham! Sword thru the gut....the fire of a thousand suns doesn't begin to descirbe my anger.
    • I hear ya man, I shed some tears at that moment :(

      I still can't hear the Aeris tune without getting choked up. Sign of a good game, when you really get to care for the characters.
      • I hear you there. I choked up during the burial scene after the JENOVA fight, and broke down twice while playing FF8. The first time was when Squall gave his speech to all the troops via the Balamb Garden intercom, and the second was when he and Rinoa were in space and was wondering if Rinoa would regain consciousness. I know some people talk smack about FF8, but if the game can grab you like that, then it says something about how good the story is.
  • Advent Children? (Score:5, Informative)

    by rbb (18825) <remco@rc[ ]rg ['6.o' in gap]> on Sunday October 24, 2004 @04:47PM (#10615660) Homepage
    A suggestion would've been to include some links to more information about the movie:
    There's also www.adventchildren.net, but that one's not entirely working for me at the moment.
  • Kinda freaky (Score:2, Insightful)

    by cloudkj (685320)
    Anyone else a little freaked out about the looks of the CG characters? I remember reading an article a while back about how, no matter how realistic, computer animated human characters will always lack a humanistic "look" that makes them look eerie and ghastly. This is true even if you can achieve up to 99% realism for a computer animated human. That 1% makes a huge difference, and makes them appear less human (zombie-ish).
    • Well I don't know about Final Fantasy, but some CG characters (i.e. Silent Hill) looked SO realistic and well-done.

      Perhaps the movie would be a real hit if instead of 3D-rendering they used cel-shading for the characters. Akira, anyone?
    • Well... I think part of this is about mindset. I'm all about CG eye candy. I'm a sucker for it every time. When I went to the theater to see FF:The Spirits Within, I was expecting to be hugely blown away by realism. While it wasn't horrible, it didn't live up to the expectations I had built up in my mind.

      I won't do this when I see FF:Advent Children. All movies require a certain amount of suspension of belief, and no matter how well it will be rendered, I'll keep it firmly in mind that this is, ultimately

    • I dunno, I always thought that Sephiroth chick was pretty hot!

  • is Aki Ross in it? That's all I care about really. Seeing this movie is a yes/no decision for me.
  • Can the recent Final Fantasy games really be classified as Role Playing games anymore? Ever since FF7 the series has been reduced to just fighting monsters inbetween CG cutscenes. Too many games gave been trying to bridge the gap between the movie and the game. It may seem like a good idea, but IMHO it just makes a really boring game. Metal Gear Solid 2 suffered from this. Snake opens door-watch 10 minute movie. Snake walks down hallway-watch 15 minute movie. The entire game was just walking Snake from one
    • Can any of the FF games be reduced to a RPG? Not really, unless you really want to take "RPG" out of context.

      I really think that NWN is the only "RPG" that current executes in binary form. It's open ended enough to take on almost any game in it's chosen setting.

      If you want an example, try getting another "RPG" to break the rules. DM's do this all the time (albeit silently if they still want bribes from their players) to further the plot in the direction that seems most worthy for the game.

      That "DM shiel
  • by echocharlie (715022) on Sunday October 24, 2004 @06:09PM (#10616087) Homepage
    ...and that's a good thing!

    Between Advent Children and all the other Final Fantasy VII sequels that have been announced, it's good to see Square Enix acknowledging their most popular FF to date. Before Crisis - Final Fantasy VII is their entry into Mobile phone gaming. And then you also have Final Fantasy: Dirge of Cerberus, their PS2 sequel which focuses on one of the supporting characters in the game, Vincent Valentine.

    For those of you who haven't played the original game yet, you should go out and get a copy. It's available for $20 under the classics banner, and boasts one of the most unique battle systems in an RPG. The "materia"-system offers so much flexibility, and let's you really customize your game. I love the materia-combos that can be created.

  • Why does that website allow Goooogle to put links to gilsellers on their site? The same gilsellers that are f*cking a game by Square-Enix up (Final Fantasy XI).
  • But does right click suppression annoy the shit out of anybody else?
  • "The story takes place two years after Earth was saved from Meteor at the end of Final Fantasy VII"

    Wow, I thought it this sort of thing was against Squaresoft's requirement that the FF series have no sense of continuity...the reason I won't be seeing it is because of their other requirement that every game in (or movie about) the series be considerably worse than the last...
  • by LockeOne (825080) on Monday October 25, 2004 @03:04AM (#10618667)
    Was at the screening as well, best 10 bucks spent in a while, though still kinda crappy that it was only a piece of the movie. They said it was work in progress and that it'll end up being about 60-80 minutes long when complete. They actually had guests from Sqaure-Enix to talk about the movie, and that the whole thing was using bleeding-edge digital technology (even the projector and screen was new just for the screening).

    The detail was amazing -- you could even see the freckles on some characters' faces. You can't really tell at all that it's CG and not real actors. Almost all the main FF7 cast was in the preview, and some really cool action scenes. Makes you wish they remade the game based on the movie. Vincent moves extremely quick and swiftly, almost like a vampire. Barret's gun arm transforms into other things like liquid metal. Aeris is in the film, but you barely see her face (at least in the preview). Red XIII actually does have a tail on fire. Cid has his polearm and is quite good at swift at keeping enemies at bay. Tifa seems to be in charge of the Strife Delivery service, and she gets her 10 seconds of fighting fame before getting overpowered by the crazy antagonist. They also had a flashback with Cloud's friend from SOLDIER in that flashback in the game. The Turks are also in the movie.

    BTW, the 30 minutes included the opening and end credits, so in reality, it was only like 20 minutes.

This screen intentionally left blank.

Working...