Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
First Person Shooters (Games) Sony Games

Game Review: Planetside 2 (video) 157

Posted by Soulskill
from the so-many-men-with-guns dept.
In this video (with transcript), we review Planetside 2, a new MMOFPS game from Sony Online Entertainment. The game is a true first-person shooter, using its MMO nature to bring a persistent world into play, with battles sometimes involving hundreds of players, and it does so without trying to shoe-horn in ill-fitting MMORPG tropes like questing, story development, or insurmountable gear disparities. The combat favors relative realism (you won't be rocket jumping around, and nobody gets to be Rambo), but it's mixed with vehicle combat in a way that manages to be entertaining without being unfair. Planetside 2 is free to play, using microtransactions to support itself. It wisely avoids selling gear you can't acquire in-game (aside from cosmetic stuff), and doesn't require purchases to be competitive. Hit the link below to see/read our review.

-----------------------------

Welcome to Slashdot TV. Today we're reviewing Planetside 2, a massively multiplayer online first-person shooter from Sony Online Entertainment.

First, it's important to gain an understand of what this game really is. The MMOFPS genre is still a relatively unexplored one, and the games that have been called such in the past haven’t all been alike. Plus, when you call something an MMO, people tend to get certain expectations. Put simply, Planetside 2 is a first-person shooter set in a persistent world. When you fight, you do so to capture enemy bases or defend your own, and you do so against other players. That’s it. There are no quests, no dungeons, no resource farming — there aren't even any NPCs. You’re dropped into a firefight, you try to kill other players, and that’s it. Don’t go into this game expecting it to be World of Warcraft with guns.

Planetside 2 is based on relatively realistic warfare — the Counterstrike school, rather than Quake. You have limited ammo, long reload times, and falling damage that can easily kill you. Your enemies aren’t dumb enough to paint themselves in bright, fluorescent colors, so it’ll take some practice before you can reliably pick them out from your teammates. It can be frustrating at first, before you've trained yourself to see the icon above allies’ heads. You’ll squint and wonder, “Is that a bad guy?” It becomes much clearer when they open fire on you. There’s good reason to make sure you’re lining up your shots correctly, though: friendly fire is enabled. You will accidentally shoot teammates, teammates will shoot you (accidentally or otherwise), and you will be killed by teammates running over you with tanks. It can be an annoyance. In fact, if you’re more a fan of unrealistic shooters, the whole experience will probably be frustrating, and Planetside 2 probably isn't for you.

So, does Planetside 2 have different classes? Yes. How many? Well.. that’s a tough question to answer. You could say five, you could say six, you could say over a dozen. But let's keep it simple for now and say five. I’ll give a brief description of how each of the classes play.

The first, Light Assault, does well at short to mid-range combat. It's fairly weak, defensively, but it has an advantage over the other classes in mobility. Where the rest are confined to running around the ground, Light Assault gets jump jets. Their range is short, but it allows players to get on top of buildings or big rocks, and to sneak into positions the enemy doesn't expect.

Heavy Assault is just what you would expect from the name. They're tough to kill, they have good short range damage, and they're the best at taking out tanks and other vehicles. The downside to Heavies is that they're weak against long range targets and often find themselves the target of many enemies close up, and they're dangerously vulnerable whenever they need to reload.

Infiltrators are snipers. They get a cloaking device and a rifle with a powerful scope, and they can do very high damage if they land headshots. They can one-shot some of the other classes, with good aim and good luck. As I mentioned earlier, it can be tough to distinguish friend from foe in this game, and a well hidden Infiltrator can be a real pain to deal with.

Engineers are a very non-standard class. They can drop turrets that can put out a lot of damage, they can repair machinery that’s taken damage, and they can drop ammo packs for other people -- a useful thing to have around, since if you survive for more than a little while, you can quite easily run out of bullets.

Combat Medics can heal injured players and revive dead ones, but those of you coming from an MMORPG background should hesitate to think of them as healers. Your heals don’t match incoming damage -- not even close. The Medics carry powerful assault rifles, and can definitely hold their own in short and medium-range combat, so it's better to think of them as a combat class that brings utility.

All of these classes are useful, and all have strengths on the battlefield. That said, they all have significant weaknesses, too. A Combat Medic can't do much against a sniping Infiltrator at long range, and the Infiltrator doesn't have much hope against a Medic at short range. Light Assault are great at sneaking up behind people who aren't expecting it and scoring some easy kills, but they aren't worth much without the element of surprise. Heavies can be alternately monsters or completely useless, depending on how an enemy faction’s class and vehicle balance is. On one hand, this is good, because nothing is overpowered. On the other hand, combat frequently felt to me like Rock, Paper, Scissors. Given roughly equal skill levels, your chances in a 1-on-1 encounter have more to do with what classes are involved than on how you play. That may or may not be to your preference, but the game was also designed to be more about large battles than 1-on-1s.

The nice thing about classes in Planetside 2 is that you aren't locked into any particular one. Every time you spawn, you get a choice: which of the five classes do you want to respawn as? So, if you keep getting torn up by Infiltrators who are camping hundreds of yards away, you can spawn as a Light Assault, then bring death from above. If your base is getting rocked by tanks, switch to a Heavy Assault and take them out. To put it simply: this game is much more about strategy than it is about tactics.

Switching between classes is easy, but not entirely without a price. This game’s specialization system is based on earning "Certifications." You gain these at a linear rate as you rack up experience points, and you also accumulate them slowly for just having a character, which is nice. You spend these Certifications on things like new weapons, upgrades to your existing weapons and armor, and also for upgrades to your special abilities. So, if you put a bunch of Certifications into upgrading your Infiltrator’s sniper rifle, you’ll lose out on that when you switch to another class. Fortunately, you never stop gaining Certifications, and your upgrades are much more cost efficient at the beginning, so it's entirely reasonable to be effective on multiple classes without dumping huge amounts of time into it. All-in-all, the ease with which you change your character around is light-years better than in most MMO games.

I mentioned earlier that you could consider the game to have over a dozen classes, and here’s how: vehicles. Scattered throughout the game are terminals which your character can use to jump into different kinds of mechanized transport units. On the ground there are 4-wheelers, Mech suits, tanks, and troop transports that are both armored and armed. In the air there are various gunships and fighters. Many of these craft are designed for multiple players. One person will drive, and another player or two will man the guns. The weaponry is powerful, but there are often aiming restrictions and reload requirements — again, it's an attempt to be relatively realistic as well as balanced. The reason I say these can be considered classes is that you can upgrade them just as you can your normal gear. Weapon capacity, optics, stealth systems, mine guards — if you want, you can focus your certifications entirely on vehicles and play the game that way.

Most of the vehicles are awkward to drive to fly — more pseudo-realism in action. It’ll take some practice before you can make it do what you want, and even then there are limits. But somebody who’s taken the time to master flying, or the positioning of a tank, can be quite a threat. At the least, it's an entertaining break from typical FPS combat every once in awhile. It's also a lot of fun to round up some buddies and load into a vehicle. By myself, I can take vehicle combat or leave it. With friends, I won't pass it up.

The combat in this game is fast-paced. In some cases, too fast-paced, at least for me. You’ll go through stretches where you can't even put your crosshairs on an enemy while you die over and over, just because the sneakier enemy troops all happen to see you first. It's balanced by the times you find yourself behind enemy lines with nobody aware of you, or shooting into a doorway that enemies keep popping out of. It's not hard to kill or be killed, to capture bases or lose them. But one thing Planetside 2 struggles with is giving you the feeling that you can make a difference by yourself. In my experience with the game, very few fights or battles are decided by the skill of the participants. Numbers always seem to count for more. That’s not unexpected — the design that allows for huge battles must necessarily reduce the impact of particular players. Still, it’s something you should be aware of before jumping into the game.

It's worth pointing out that the game is free to play. It's supported by microtransactions, which will let you acquire certain things sooner, but it doesn't provide a big advantage. By the time you acquire them through normal means, the increase in your skill level will outweigh the upgrades. It's also worth noting that the term "upgrades" applies loosely. Many are trade-offs. There isn't one clear best weapon, and your default weapon isn't lacking at all. Spending certifications and/or cash will go toward focusing on the way you want to play — for example, spraying from the hip with a machine gun versus firing short bursts while looking down the barrel. Of my friends who have played, one has spent money, and it was for a single weapon. The others have felt no need to do so. That Planetside 2 is free doesn't have any bearing on the overall quality of the game, but it does affect the game’s value. I personally wouldn't subscribe to it, but playing for free with some friends? Sure. And I certainly don’t feel bad telling somebody to pick it up if they want to play with us. If they dislike it, they can uninstall while their bank account remains untouched.

Several facets of Planetside 2 are not to my preference, but I can't say they're poorly designed. If gigantic FPS battles in a permanent world sound appealing to you, give it a shot. (Technically permanent, anyway — with no reason to say in any one place, and with bases constantly switching sides, you don’t form any attachment to the world as it stands, and thus don’t care a whole lot when you lose part of it.) If you are thinking about trying it, I highly recommend getting some friends to play it with you.

Planetside 2 is not going to contend for Game-Of-The-Year for me, and I don’t know that I’d even play it if I didn't have friends interested in playing with me. Nevertheless, it ranks very highly on my list of games out of which I've gotten the most value.

That’s it for our review of Planetside 2. We hope you've found it useful. Thanks for watching.

This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Game Review: Planetside 2 (video)

Comments Filter:
  • By Sony? (Score:5, Funny)

    by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @01:24PM (#42327115)

    So what does the rootkit that it installs do?

    • by wer32r (2556798)
      Even if there is no rootkit; how will they store your credit card info? They don't have a particularly good history with that either.
    • Just wastes yer time as far as I could see. Look, I really wanted to be impartial about Sony & like this game. But after 2 hours of aimlessly running around & getting 1-shotted from God-knows-where & having absolutely no fucking idea where I was, who I was, what I was meant to be doing or what all the colours & shit in the UI meant, I can only say...no thanks. As a *veteran* online fps & mmo player, I can only say that SOE dropped the ball on this one (surprise, surprise), certainly as f

  • Planetside 2 is amazing, until you go to upgrade anything and it all costs money, ridiculous amounts of money. Every little upgrade in the entire game has a paid option to it. I really enjoy the game, but im afraid im always going to be low-powered because i refuse to spend real money on a gun for EACH class and vehicle.

    Planetside 2 is all we feared would come to pass, a great game shackled with a horrible 'pay for every little piece of functionality' mode. For the record, i have no problem buying TF2 gea
    • by Anonymous Coward

      Everything that can be bought with real money can also be bought with Certification Points that you earn through playing the game. People who pay money can get things faster, and that's about it.

      My biggest issue with the game is poor optimization for AMD processors, and poor performance in large battles with many dozens of players in the surrounding area.

      • by scubamage (727538)
        The biggest problem with AMD processors is poor Planetside 2 optimization you mean ;)
    • by Anonymous Coward

      You cannot buy upgrades with real money. You can buy new equipment yes but you require certs to upgrade stuff.

    • How much is ridiculous? I played it for a few hours at the weekend, but didn't look at upgrading. There's so much to do that I didn't feel like I really scratched the surface. Once I figure out what play styles I prefer I'd maybe spend some money on it. Considering it's free to play, I'd probably be happy to spend up to around 30GBP. When I've played true free-to-play games before I've spent money as a thankyou to the developers. When games that I've already bought ask me to spend money to unlock stuff (I'm

      • by Anonymous Coward

        A LOT! You would spend several hundred dollars if you actually unlocked everything... If you just focus on 1 class for some of its unlocks and a couple of vehicle unlocks you are looking at $50 USD. I haven't done the math but if you wanted to unlock everything, you could probably spend $1000 USD.

        • by citizenr (871508)

          A LOT! You would spend several hundred dollars if you actually unlocked everything... If you just focus on 1 class for some of its unlocks and a couple of vehicle unlocks you are looking at $50 USD. I haven't done the math but if you wanted to unlock everything, you could probably spend $1000 USD.

          This is still "cheap" compared to World of Tanks :) I know people spending 1000 Euros /Year on WOT gold.

        • Only if you ignore station cash multiplier days like THIS FRIDAY (3x deal). you talk about $$$ like its a constant conversion between it and SC when in reality few people that i know buy station cash when its not on sale.
      • by Baloroth (2370816)

        The most expensive weapons are $7 dollars (USD). They can be unlocked by points earned ingame, but that takes a while (weeks, at least), and those points are better spent on actual upgrades (nominally, anything that can be bought with cash is a side-grade, although of course in reality, they aren't). However, you would want to focus on 1-2 classes and 1-2 vehicles. 1 weapon per class, and 2 weapons per vehicle (for adaptability) puts the total at ~40$, but Sony also does 2x or 3x deals on "Station Cash" som

        • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

          by Anonymous Coward

          A few weeks? I'm on 1100 certs after a week of (intensive) playing. On a good night when playing in a platoon capping points you easily grab 100/150 certs. Also keep in mind that when unlocking better weapons and the likes and customizing your classes to your liking you will get more effective and gain certs faster.

          • by loufoque (1400831)

            Some people have lives.

          • by pauls2272 (580109)

            The most effective way of getting certs is to follow the huge zerg and cap empty bases. This gives lots of experience and certs. Very boring however.

            But the most fun I've had in PS2, involved things like defending the Citadel. Lots of fun but little experience defending and few certs.

            • by scubamage (727538)
              Most efficient way of getting certs is putting together a light armor column with a party bus and a decent galaxy pilot - this requires an outfit, but even the smaller ones can pull it off relatively easily. Then just steamroll through bases.
        • It takes 250 XP per cert, on an average night as an engineer, I can make about 5k XP/hr or about 20 certs/hr. Not bad, not great and about average. If you suck, you're only getting 2-3k XP/hr. If you're farming, then you can get closer to 10-15k XP/hr.

          So, on average, expect to take about a week per 1000 cert weapon that you want to unlock. Or grit your teeth and find a grinding spot like Indar's Crown and be a medic or engineer to make more like 10-15k XP/hr.
        • by LingNoi (1066278)

          If you look at some of the weapons it's hard the argue that they're actually better anyway compared to the free weapons.

      • 1500 points cost 15 dollars, a basic gun costs 500 points. You figure it out from there.

        That is the problem I have with micro transactions in games, there is NOTHING micro about it. You can play for free... you just will die a lot unable to kill others because your gun does half the damage. If your lucky.

        As for buying things with in game currency, that requires either cheating (rampant) or an amount of time few adults are likely to have.

        Is the game itself any good? Not really. While tactics could exist,

        • by duk242 (1412949)

          That is the problem I have with micro transactions in games, there is NOTHING micro about it. You can play for free... you just will die a lot unable to kill others because your gun does half the damage. If your lucky.

          It's really not that bad, without paying for anything I consistently have a KD Ratio over 1:1. I don't find myself getting rocked by pro players either, the starter guns are just fine.

        • by LingNoi (1066278)

          That is the problem I have with micro transactions in games, there is NOTHING micro about it. You can play for free... you just will die a lot unable to kill others because your gun does half the damage. If your lucky.

          BS, play the game, the paid weapons do not offer a distinct advantage over the free ones except the rocket launcher for the flying vehicles in which case you have to give up extra after burner to fit them. This game is very balanced to the point where even though I have money i'm not going to

        • by scubamage (727538)
          Wow, so you haven't actually played the game I see. I beta tested for the past 8 months. No such issue exists. They took a rock/paper/scissors approach with the weapons. So, you can side-grade to a different weapon with a higher ROF, but lower damage output and lower accuracy. Or you could get a super-accurate rifle with lower ROF and medium damage output. Or you could get something with rediculous damage output, but low ROF and moderate accuracy. The benefits of one over the other is highly situational (hi
    • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

      by Anonymous Coward

      "...or insurmountable gear disparities."

      A lot of people are whining about how PlanetSide 2 is strictly P2W (pay to win), but it really isn't. You can do just fine with the default kits, granted, it takes a long time to unlock some of the cooler stuff, but it fits the MMO model just fine. The advantages gained from purchases unlocks is very insubstantial. Anyone else who tells you otherwise has no idea how to play the game properly. I've seen entire outfits of free to play players that stand as proof that yo

      • by Ironhandx (1762146) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @02:30PM (#42328023)

        The 105 Zephyr gun from the Liberty says Hi.

        So does the Additional Burster for the Burster max.

        The T-9 Carv S, which is in all ways a direct upgrade of the T9 Carv you start with as a heavy....

        In fact there is a rather large room full of weapons that have sprouted arms and mouths saying "Over here! You haven't seen me yet!"

    • by tarius8105 (683929) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @01:42PM (#42327405)
      until you go to upgrade anything and it all costs money, ridiculous amounts of money.

      No, you get certs as you gain xp. New weapons require certs or station cash. The average cost for a new weapon is $6.00. The cert points are higher which a casual player can gain enough after a week or two to get a new weapon. Then, certs can also be used to enhance your class, weapon, or vehicle. You cannot spend station cash to upgrade a vehicle beyond unlocking a weapon.

      a great game shackled with a horrible 'pay for every little piece of functionality' mode.

      Again you do not need to spend any money to play the game and unlock weapons or buy the enhancements. You have an option to pay cash to unlock weapons but in no way are you required to spend any money at all. Cert points are required no matter what and have to be earned by playing the game.
      • by Krojack (575051)

        Gotta love when people see that you can buy something using real money then just assume it's "Pay to Win" without trying the game and seeing what you can and can't buy using real money.

      • The Station Cash currency that is used for the real money transactions goes on sale pretty much monthly for a day at 2x or 3x, seems the next 3x sale is on the 21st, but usually there's no notice.

        Items also come up on sale, the weekly ones usually as equipment packages and individual items daily usually for about 40-60% off if bought with Station Cash. So even the top priced $7 guns could cost as little as a dollar if you spend wisely and others as little as a quarter. You can also try all the weapons befor

        • At about 100 hours played so far, the 6-month subscription was money well spent. I've spent that much on AAA titles which only offered 20-30 hours of content.

          And once you learn to read the map and make educated guesses about who is going where and when, there's not a whole lot of downtime.
      • Its misleading saying a new weapon is $6.00. In reality it is 600 "station cash". This sounds like a moot point since most of the time 600 station cash costs $6.00 to buy but nobody I know that plays buys station cash when there isnt a deal going on. This friday (the 21st) Sony is doing a 3x station cash day, there is also a wal mart deal where you can buy a $15 card for 2k station cash, combine those and you have 6k station cash for $15. Now look at how much that weapon costs, $1.50 for a new gun on a
        • Its not so much misleading as to say without the deals it can cost about that much per new weapon. As another person stated you dont need to unlocked newer weapons for the most part to be successful. The concept that you need to pay money to do anything in this game is false. If my goal was to not spend any money in this game I could get away with it but only with a disadvantage that I'd unlock weapons slower than someone who drops cash for it.
    • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

      by Anonymous Coward

      That's entirely not true.

      Most of the important upgrades cannot be bought with real money and only the in game certifications which cannot be obtained for real money.
      The class skills, the weapon upgrades, the vehicle upgrades are all certification only. You absolutely cannot pay real money to get them.

      Want to be able to drop C4? Want that all imporant dogfighting chassis for your striek fighter? That 12x zoom scope for your sniper rifle?
      You can't buy any of that with real money. You have to grind certifi

    • by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @02:02PM (#42327661)

      I'm not sure how you got modded +3 for this inane post, but congrats on spewing so much disinformation.

      For those unaware of how Planetside 2's RMT (Real-Money Transactions) work, there are only two things you can actually buy that involve real money:
      1. New guns (whether for infantry or vehicles)
      2. Cosmetic stuff

      All of the new guns can also be unlocked using in-game certifications. Note that NONE of their upgrades can be unlocked with real money. You pay money to unlock a gun, but then if you want to specialize into it, you'll need to use the in-game certifications that you earn while playing.

      Cosmetic stuff can't be unlocked for in-game certs, but seeing as cosmetics don't actually confer an advantage, it really doesn't matter.

      Money won't make you good at this game. It can give you a wider range of options more quickly, but it won't make you better than other players. Planetside 2 isn't a money sink unless you want it to be.

    • by Anonymous Coward

      This is also wrong as higher level things are defined as "side-grades" by the devs, and they're right. The higher level weapons and equipment don't dominate lower level ones, they just provide other options. You might find a rifle that does significantly better damage than the starter ones, but has a pathetically low ammo amount, or something like that. It's very difficult to be pay 2 win in this game; I play it entirely for free and do just fine.

    • by Anonymous Coward

      Planetside 2 is amazing, until you go to upgrade anything and it all costs money, ridiculous amounts of money. Every little upgrade in the entire game has a paid option to it. I really enjoy the game, but im afraid im always going to be low-powered because i refuse to spend real money on a gun for EACH class and vehicle.

      Planetside 2 is all we feared would come to pass, a great game shackled with a horrible 'pay for every little piece of functionality' mode. For the record, i have no problem buying TF2 gear because its tradeable, craftable, sellable and confers no true advantage.. Planetside offers none of that, its just a huge money sink.

      This is... flat out wrong. You can purchase new gear, only a few items of which are straight upgrades (Lock-on rockets for HA, a2a and a2g missles for ESF). In order to actually upgrade anything, you must spend certs.. and certs are only earned through playing the game and cannot be purchased (although XP boosters can, but meh).

    • by LingNoi (1066278)

      Yes, how dare they attempt to make money to keep the game everyone likes playing running. The assholes should be giving everything away for free!

  • I thought this game looked pretty good (never played the first one), however I won't be touching it because it's Sony. I wish more gamers would make ethical decisions when purchasing games (no, I don't share the feelings of Stallman, I'm just against a company that spies on you as a reward for being their customer) so that companies would actually be punished for their evil practices.
    • Re: (Score:2, Informative)

      by Anonymous Coward

      The people responsible for that trojan incident aren't the same people that worked on this game. Actually, the PS2 devs have been pretty responsive to the community and relativly candid.

      • by PopeRatzo (965947)

        The people responsible for that trojan incident aren't the same people that worked on this game.

        Doesn't matter. The rootkit incident, as well as some of Sony's other business decisions, have earned it a corporate death sentence from a lot of people, who will just never buy anything with a Sony brand name on it ever again.

        • by Clockwurk (577966)

          Nobody cares about you, or the games you play/don't play.

          • by PopeRatzo (965947)

            Nobody cares about you, or the games you play/don't play.

            I don't expect they should.

            On the other hand, I'm well aware that I'm entirely unexceptional and non-unique. That means that what I feel, the decisions I have made, have almost certainly been made by a lot of other people, too.

            Anyway, the message is for Sony, not for you.

      • by unk98 (1525843)
        It is not just one small portion of the company. Previous Sony related stories on Slashdot have plenty of examples. Specifically to your example of Playstation, I would not consider the other OS [wikipedia.org] issue as "pretty responsive to the community"
    • Agreed.

      Any company that sues somebody for disassembling their _own_ hardware doesn't respect its customers. Why would I reward this immoral behavior by keeping them alive?

    • by LingNoi (1066278)

      It's not Sony. It's Sony Online Entertainment. It's a completely different company from the one that made the rootkit.

  • Decent... (Score:3, Informative)

    by urieleoc (560637) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @01:42PM (#42327413)

    The hardest thing about PS2 is getting past the first 15 minutes.

    You make a character, pick a faction, then get dropped into battle. Active battle. You have a near 100% chance of dying as soon as you land. Enemy players will be looking for the drop pods and will instantly target and kill you. You then will be shown a map with places you can respawn. If you run outside, you have about an 95% chance of dying instantly.

    It is very unforgiving if you are used to playing other MMOs.

    • by Krojack (575051)

      Drop Pods always drop me in the worse places. I've come to accept this when I start playing for the night. I've come to use use drop pods to quickly get to an area where fighting is going on when I start playing for the night. As for respawning and dying when you run outside, this is false UNLESS that area is about to be captured by the attacking faction. When they have over run the area and waiting for the capture bar to finish they will camp outside the spawning room. Just take the death and chose an

    • by LingNoi (1066278)

      I have mixed feelings about this because my experience of this went so well. I went from picking a character to kicking ass in less then 2 minutes.

  • Part 2 suffers from the same repetitiveness as part 1. There is very little else to do in this game except shoot, shoot, and more shooting. You also have to deal with veteran players overpowering the map. Walk outside the base and you're guaranteed to get snipped. I'll stick with games like Skyrim, and Mass Effect.
    • by na1led (1030470)
      I meant to say "SNIPED" not snipped, in case anyone bitches about it.
      • by idontgno (624372)
        Thanks for clarifying that. I can stand being head-shotted from across the zone by some camping bitch... but an involuntary vasectomy? Thanks, no thanks, I'll settle for being chain-ganked by Korean gold farmers in WoW.
    • You're complaining that there's too much shooting in a first-person shooter?

      Heck, given all the options for alternative roles thansk to the MMO environment (scouting, infiltration, sabotage/countersabotage, many more), this is probably the least repetitively shoot-y FPS out there.

    • by LingNoi (1066278)

      game except shoot, shoot, and more shooting....I'll stick with games like Skyrim, and Mass Effect.

      So your complaint is that's it's an FPS and cite you'll be going back to RPGs? Seems like a perfectly valid complaint to me.. ugh..

      • by na1led (1030470)
        It doesn't mater what type of game it is, I just didn't find it that appealing. Comparing it to similar games like Tribes, or Battlefield, Planetside doesn't have enough uniqueness to it.
  • by Psyko (69453) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @01:45PM (#42327455)

    Having played Planetside 1 from beta (sill have cd's!) and for a few years after launch, a lot of the people I used to play that with were pretty excited about planetside 2, until we actually got to play it. The summary about it was pretty much this:
    Everything you hated about planetside 1? We took it out.
    Everything you liked about planetside 1? We dropped most of that too!
    Things you thought were missing from Planetside 1? We put some of those in.

    This one feels like pretty much a large map rip-off of all the other fps's out on the scene now, and I've taken to calling it Planetfieldfall2: modern agenda.

    Graphics are pretty good, maps are still huge, but all the things that would make us get 20-30 people together to storm around and kick some butt together are gone. Thanks for nothing and you won't be getting any cash from me.

    • by Anonymous Coward

      You should try joining an outfit. It makes the game experience a lot better. I regularly play with about 10-15 people.

  • by vlm (69642)

    From a realism perspective, it sounds like a compare and contrast with Arma (dayz) would have been more productive than compare and contrast with something its really far away from like Quake.

  • All of those 'cons' that are listed as problems with MMORPGs, you know, like questing and gear progression, are actually things that people enjoy, as long as they're designed fairly. See GW2 as an excellent example of this.
  • Planetside 1 was already something.
    10 years ago you could play with 300 other people on persistent maps far bigger than other FPS of that time.

    Now Planetside 2 offers to play up to 2000 players at the same time on the same map (instance). Something I have never seen elsewhere. Even in Eve online (not followed Eve for 2 years though).

    Sure you need to be organized with so much people. And the game becomes really interesting when your outfit (guild) can align many people. And when you are organized.

    For instanc

  • by Viewsonic (584922) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @02:44PM (#42328209)

    I've been around. I have had so many highs like getting a 2600 and playing Space Invaders one Christmas, booting up Lemmings for the first time on my Amiga, beating Kid Icarus on my NES, rescuing the princess in Link to the Past on the SNES, blowing people up in Doom with three other people sitting next to me, slaying Dragons for the first time in Everquest with 50 people, toppling enemy mechs with a few other players in Chromehounds, and now finally being in a squad of soldiers, being led by a platoon leader across an alien world with thousands of other soldiers made up of different outfits that consist of multiple platoons. All tasked with taking specific objectives. Blinding the enemy installations with smoke grenades and turning on your IR vision and sneaking around taking people out. Jumping into a huge flying whale of an airship that can carry over a dozen people. Being flown over a distant enemy base to drop out onto the roof and storming into buildings. Leaping over obstacles and into the air with your jet pack and over 5 enemy guys who dont see you. You look over the ledge and drop a grande onto them racking up the kills. You secure the base. Load up and move to another. All with real voice coms chatting back and forth warning of mines, and enemy armor.

    Not only is this one of the best looking games I've ever seen, it can give you one of the most epic war moments you will ever experience at this time. Two dozen troopers running over a hilltop flanked by tanks as your air support swoops down ahead of you to soften up the line. IT IS THAT EPIC.

    The free part makes this a no brainer to try at the very least. I would hate to see someone pass by the opportunity. It is one of gamings greats.

    No, I don't work for Sony. But I love this game. A lot. Try it! We need you!

    • As a gamer who's been around since the 2600 too, I agree this is one of the best games ever made. The war moments you have in it are just priceless. You can shoot down air with a tank if you have a lucky shot. You can strap c4 to a quad runner, and hit boost on the quad then jump off, so it goes flying into a tank and kills the tank. You can jump out of a plane, but die on impact. Yet if you have jet packs, you can jump out of a plane, but boost so you don't die. Then you're fighting behind enemy terr
  • I've had a ton of fun with this game. The review just scratches the surface, but if you've played any of the Battlefield games multiplayer you will largely understand the basic game. It's just instead of having a small map with 3 or 4 command points, you have 3 huge maps (continents) with dozens of command points.

    As the review says, the starting weapons are plenty good, and upgrades upgrade the way you play rather than the damage of the weapon. For example, you can get red dot scopes for short range batt

  • by DaveGod (703167) on Tuesday December 18, 2012 @03:05PM (#42328511)

    Steam tells me I've played Planetside 2 for 72 hours. In general, it's a valid review that covers a lot of good points, despite noticing that the reviewer's player was obviously low-level.

    Some that I would add however, is:

    a) The game does not offer a comfortable intro to the brand-new player, it will probably spawn you into instant death and there are a lot of things to figure out. The flipside is much of the reason for that is depth.

    b) It's not so vital to play with actual friends, but rather a good squad. When you join the game look at the squad tab and go through them looking for someone using voice comms and setting waypoints on the map. Provided I do look for one, I will usually find an enjoyable squad and that is despite playing at off-peak hours. Playing without a decent squad is very tiresome, lonesome, has no direction and you'll find yourself wondering what to do. Playing with a good squad is the opposite and the trouble is keeping up!

    c) Unless I missed it, he didn't mention that there are 3 factions (hence the 3 colours demonstrating control on the map screen) and they are not quite symmetric. The reviewer is playing as Vanu which is the only one that has that alien-ish theme with ultra futuristic uniforms and laser type weapons. The other two are more conventional. Each faction's weapons and vehicles have attributes with that factions trend e.g. one faction has lower damage per projectile but higher rate of fire, another faction the opposite.

    d) He's a bit harsh implying individual skill doesn't matter. Your l33t skillz might not be quite so obvious to everyone, you're unlikely to "pwn" everyone quite so hard with ridiculous k/d ratios. But the game is balanced pretty well so skilled fraggers will have higher k/d and certainly will make a difference, all else being equal - it's just that you cannot solely rely on your skills and will also need teamplay.

    e) I think this is also where the reviewer goes wrong saying that it's hard to feel you are contributing. In an okay squad it's actually very easy and the game gives you congratulatory messages and experience point rewards making it very clear. Players are generous with the "thank you" voice command. There's also a lot more variety in the ways you can contribute than any game I can think of. Maybe you're not actually any good at FPS shooting, but maybe you'll be good at tank tactics, dogfighting, support roles like engineer or medic, infiltrating and hacking, or simply ferrying people around.

    f) Agreeing with the reviewer and contradicting some other posters, I'm having difficulty finding a need to put real money into this game. I've spent about half the cost of a typical new game so far, and all of that was a splurge because I felt I should contribute given the hours I've gotten from the game. Sure you could spend a lot of money but there's really no need to. Aside from a couple of vehicle items, anything items to buy where to experience-point cost is high thus viable for real-money, they're sidegrades more for preference, like trading short-range raw damage for longer range accuracy. A complete set would cost a ton of money, but you don't want a complete set and anyway you can get everything with enough experience points so if you stick with the game you can be finding yourself picking up rare-use options for no money.

    g) There is no other game where you can experience the epic, massive battles that this game can offer. If that is what you are looking for - you can also easily avoid those and go running around with a small or moderately sized squad.

    • I agree with most of those points (97 hours played).

      Lone-wolf types need not apply unless you can fly a ESF (empire-specific fighter). Get into a squad, even a pickup-group, and follow them around. Start looking at everyone's outfit (guild / clan / corp) tags in square brackets. Pay attention to who seems to be team-oriented and which groups only zerg. Then find their recruiting posts on the forums and join up.

      If you're in a half-decent outfit, that uses voice comms, approaches the map at a strategi
    • by argStyopa (232550)

      I was totally in agreement with you until "...g) There is no other game where you can experience the epic, massive battles that this game can offer. If that is what you are looking for - you can also easily avoid those and go running around with a small or moderately sized squad...."

      Not true.
      http://www.battlegroundeurope.com/ [battlegroundeurope.com]
      After perhaps one of the most famously bad launches, this has been in business since 2001.

      Due to its ancient lineage, no, it's not nearly as pretty as planetside 2.
      But something has to

  • Planetside 2 has the same problems as all SEO and PvP games. Bugs and rampant cheating. Aimbots and people using exploits to get stuck in walls were they can shoot others but can't be hit. Oh, you can report people and some do get banned but in a F2P game, a new account is a few clicks away and they are right back, exploiting again.

    Balance is also completely absent from the game, possibly the worst mistake they made is including friendly fire. There will be idiots who drive over their own side with a tank.

    • by Viewsonic (584922)

      Thankfully your worst case scenarios are just that. It's nothing like that in the game at all currently. Yes, you will be run over. A lot. But if you're smaller than the thing driving around you, move out of the way. The best you can do it play LA and use jetpacks to move around in areas of high vehicle traffic.

  • The game is a true first-person shooter, using its MMO nature to bring a persistent world into play

    uh what about planetside 1?

  • They should at least change something so tribes 2 [wikipedia.org] players will feel like they are playing something different. Surely they didn't just steal the unofficial patch [wikipedia.org]? I didn't see a disc gun so I guess removing stuff makes it "different".

  • I began playing this game about a week ago.

    I am a huge hater of games like APB that give real money advantages to other players.

    This game does have weapon upgrades and xp boosts for real money.
    You do NOT have to buy these to be competitive.

    Every race has different specialties, Terran Republic for instance has a stock pistol that is one of the best in the game. Everyone gets one of these from day one who chooses this race.

    Vanu has one of the better submachine guns and definitely the best plane,(scythe) stoc

    • by Satanboy (253169)

      I just thought about an aspect of the game that has not been talked about much.

      There are other upgrades other than purchasable ones.

      Your specialties can be upgraded ONLY with Cert points.

      Do understand, you cannot purchase cert points, however you can boost how fast you can acquire them (even effectively double them with a subscription).

      So you can level your guy slow or fast depending on the certs.

      the nice thing about this is you get a sense of progression with or without boosts.

      to give an idea of the feel o

I don't want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve immortality through not dying. -- Woody Allen

Working...