Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "brain"

Date / TimeStory
Sunday August 10, 2014 @01:28PM Wiring Programmers To Prevent Buggy Code
Saturday August 09, 2014 @04:57PM Experimental Drug Compound Found To Reverse Effects of Alzheimer's In Mice
Saturday July 26, 2014 @09:08AM Soccer Superstar Plays With Very Low Brain Activity
Saturday July 26, 2014 @08:57AM Biofeedback Games and The Placebo Effect
Saturday July 26, 2014 @08:42AM Soccer Superstar Plays With Very Low Brain Activity
Sunday July 13, 2014 @01:58AM Chimpanzee Intelligence Largely Determined By Genetics
Saturday July 12, 2014 @12:03PM Take a Picture Just By Thinking About It, Using Google Glass With MindRDR App
Thursday July 10, 2014 @08:12AM A Brain Implant For Synthetic Memory
Tuesday July 01, 2014 @10:55AM Happy Software Developers Solve Problems Better
Tuesday June 24, 2014 @12:15PM Long-Lasting Enzyme Chews Up Cocaine
Monday June 23, 2014 @07:55PM Endorphins Make Tanning Addictive
Friday June 20, 2014 @07:32AM First Movie of an Entire Brain's Neuronal Activity
Saturday June 14, 2014 @11:27AM Open-Source Hardware For Neuroscience
Monday June 09, 2014 @10:34PM General Anesthesia Exposure In Infancy Causes Long-Term Memory Deficits
Monday June 09, 2014 @03:15PM Study: Rats Regret Making the Wrong Decision
Saturday June 07, 2014 @07:09AM Mad Cow Disease Blamed For Patient's Death In Texas
Friday June 06, 2014 @11:09PM Lose Sleep, Fail To Form Memory
Sunday June 01, 2014 @05:47PM Study Finds Porn Exposure Associated With Smaller Brain Region
Friday May 30, 2014 @05:46PM The Light Might Make You Heavy
Thursday May 29, 2014 @10:12AM Study: Stop Being So Cynical, You Could Give Yourself Dementia
Thursday May 29, 2014 @08:48AM German Scientists Successfully Test Brain-Controlled Flight Simulator
Tuesday May 27, 2014 @09:26AM The Flaw Lurking In Every Deep Neural Net
Sunday May 25, 2014 @08:36PM Mental Illness Reduces Lifespan As Much as Smoking
Friday May 23, 2014 @06:45PM This Is Your Brain While Videogaming Stoned
Wednesday May 21, 2014 @10:57AM Even In the Wild Mice Run In Wheels
Monday May 12, 2014 @06:56PM Lectures Aren't Just Boring, They're Ineffective, Too, Study Finds
Monday May 12, 2014 @10:37AM Electric Stimulation Could Help You Control Your Dreams
Friday May 09, 2014 @07:45AM Single Gene Can Boost IQ By Six Points
Thursday May 08, 2014 @03:57PM Mathematical Model Suggests That Human Consciousness Is Noncomputable
Thursday May 08, 2014 @08:07AM Controlling Fear By Modifying DNA
Tuesday May 06, 2014 @11:05AM Elderly Mice Perk Up With Transfused Blood
Saturday May 03, 2014 @09:09AM Winning Algorithms For Rock, Paper, Scissors
Sunday April 06, 2014 @07:14PM Sand in the Brain: A Fundamental Theory To Model the Mind
Thursday April 03, 2014 @05:18PM Start-Up Founders On Dealing With Depression
Sunday March 23, 2014 @11:16AM Electric 'Thinking Cap' Controls Learning Speed
Saturday March 22, 2014 @05:51PM Computer Spots Fakers Better Than People Do
Friday March 21, 2014 @06:06PM Research Suggests Pulling All-Nighters Can Cause Permanent Damage
Tuesday March 18, 2014 @08:31AM Famous Breast Cancer Gene Could Affect Brain Growth
Saturday March 15, 2014 @07:12AM Religion Is Good For Your Brain
Sunday March 09, 2014 @06:14PM New Blood Test Offers Early Warning for Alzheimer's Onset
Thursday March 06, 2014 @04:00PM It's True: Some People Just Don't Like Music
Saturday February 22, 2014 @10:39PM The Neuroscience of Computer Programming
Tuesday January 14, 2014 @01:55PM Ask Slashdot: How Can I Improve My Memory For Study?
Tuesday January 14, 2014 @11:20AM People Become More Utilitarian When They Face Moral Dilemmas In Virtual Reality
Tuesday January 14, 2014 @09:23AM Experiment Shows Caffeine Boosts Long Term Memory
Sunday December 22, 2013 @04:32AM Ask Slashdot: Working With Others, As a Schizophrenic Developer?
Tuesday December 10, 2013 @09:10AM Neural Prosthetic Acts Like "Bridge" Over Damaged Brain Areas
Saturday December 07, 2013 @08:11AM Need Directions? Might Not Want To Ask a Transit Rider
Friday December 06, 2013 @07:36PM Gut Microbes Linked to Autism-Like Symptoms in Mice
Friday December 06, 2013 @06:59PM Scientists Boost the "Will To Persevere" With Current To the Brain
Saturday November 30, 2013 @12:25PM Ask Slashdot: DIY Computational Neuroscience?
Tuesday November 26, 2013 @10:42AM BBC: Amazon Workers Face "Increased Risk of Mental Illness"
Sunday November 24, 2013 @11:30AM The Neuroscientist Who Discovered He Was a Psychopath
Thursday November 21, 2013 @02:01PM Bionic Eye Implant Available In US Next Month
Thursday November 21, 2013 @09:29AM Cute Cat Photos Are Data-Driven Science Behind Cunning New Language Learning App
Sunday November 03, 2013 @12:10PM Mind Control In Virtual Reality, Circa 2013
Sunday October 20, 2013 @08:37AM Debunking the Lorentz System As a Framework For Human Emotions
Friday October 18, 2013 @06:13PM Sleep Is the Ultimate Brainwasher
Saturday October 12, 2013 @10:54PM Gene Variant Can Cause Nattering Nabobs of Negativity
Saturday October 12, 2013 @10:54AM Read Better Books To Be a Better Person
Saturday October 05, 2013 @10:57AM Probe of Einstein's Brain Reveals Clues To His Genius
Tuesday September 24, 2013 @09:14PM Naps Nurture Growing Brains
Thursday September 19, 2013 @09:16AM New App Aims To Track Your Dreams
Tuesday September 17, 2013 @01:30PM Flies See the World In Slo-Mo, Say Researchers
Thursday September 12, 2013 @06:53PM Your Brain Waves Are a Password: How Your Next Car Will Check You're Not a Thief
Thursday September 12, 2013 @12:11PM Social Media Is a New Vector For Mass Psychogenic Illness
Saturday September 07, 2013 @03:08PM How Seeing Can Trump Listening, Mapped In the Brain
Wednesday September 04, 2013 @05:25PM Sleep Found To Replenish a Type of Brain Cell
Tuesday September 03, 2013 @08:28AM Wise Old Birds Teach Migration Route To Young Whooping Cranes
Tuesday August 27, 2013 @11:43AM Researcher controls colleague's brain from remote location
Tuesday August 20, 2013 @07:56AM DARPA Wants Computers That Fuse With Higher Human Brain Function
Sunday August 11, 2013 @10:16AM Study Ties High Blood Sugar To Dementia
Saturday August 10, 2013 @11:03PM The Science of 12-Step Programs
Friday August 09, 2013 @07:29AM IBM Devises Software For Its Experimental Brain-Modeling Chips
Friday July 26, 2013 @06:46PM Researchers Implant False Memories In Mice
Thursday July 25, 2013 @10:13AM Psychopathic Criminals Have "Empathy Switch"
Thursday July 25, 2013 @08:49AM US Gained a Decade of Flynn-Effect IQ Points After Adding Iodine To Salt
Tuesday July 16, 2013 @11:31AM Scientists Seek Biomarkers For Violence
Tuesday July 16, 2013 @08:41AM Secrets of Beatboxing Revealed By MRI
Tuesday July 02, 2013 @12:51PM Neuroscientist: First-Ever Human Head Transplant Is Now Possible
Friday June 28, 2013 @07:59PM Microsoft Research Adds 'Mood Detection' To Smartphones
Friday June 21, 2013 @11:59AM Whole Human Brain Mapped In 3D
Tuesday June 18, 2013 @08:16AM Trying To Learn a Foreign Language? Avoid Reminders of Home
Monday June 17, 2013 @12:41AM Anxiety Gaming Wants To Offer Mental Help Via Game Console
Friday May 24, 2013 @05:51PM Predicting IQ With a Simple Visual Test
Thursday May 16, 2013 @11:32PM Brain Zapping Improves Math Ability
Sunday May 05, 2013 @10:35PM Tylenol May Ease Pain of Existential Distress, Social Rejection
Monday April 22, 2013 @07:48AM Physicist Proposes New Way To Think About Intelligence
Wednesday April 10, 2013 @06:14PM Hydrogel Process Creates Transparent Brain For Research
Monday April 08, 2013 @06:09PM Is $100 Million Per Year Too Little For The Brain Map Initiative?
Sunday April 07, 2013 @06:36PM Take a Sonic Tour of the Brain
Friday April 05, 2013 @07:03PM Firing a Laser Into Your Brain Could Help Beat a Drug Addiction
Friday April 05, 2013 @06:53PM Mobile App Screens Calls With Brain Waves
Thursday March 28, 2013 @01:56PM Human Brain Cells Injected In Mice, They Get Smarter
Thursday March 21, 2013 @10:38AM Activity of Whole Fish Brains Mapped Second To Second
Thursday February 28, 2013 @05:40PM Intercontinental Mind-Meld Unites Two Rats
Thursday February 28, 2013 @11:24AM Intercontinental mind-meld unites two rats
Monday February 25, 2013 @12:03PM Scientists Create Mice That Can't Feel Cold
Tuesday February 19, 2013 @04:29PM Researchers Say Temporary Tattoos Could Enable Electronic Telepathy
Tuesday February 19, 2013 @12:03AM Is "Left" Vs. "Right" Hard-coded Into Your Brain?
Monday February 18, 2013 @02:11PM US Joins Google, Microsoft In "Brain Race"
Friday February 15, 2013 @08:13AM Proteins behind mad-cow disease help brain to develop
Monday February 04, 2013 @01:28PM Two Heads Are Better Than One For Brain-Computer Interfaces
Monday February 04, 2013 @12:19PM Researchers scare supposedly 'fearless' patients
Monday February 04, 2013 @11:31AM Virtual Superpowers Translate To Real Life Desire To Help
Sunday February 03, 2013 @05:58AM Multiple minds smooths your ship's path
Wednesday January 30, 2013 @02:15PM The Human Brain Project Receives Up To $1.34 Billion
Wednesday January 30, 2013 @12:02PM Brain Pacemaker Implants Used To Treat Alzheimer's
Wednesday January 30, 2013 @01:29AM Graphene and brain research to get around one billion euro in funding - each
Monday January 28, 2013 @04:33AM Poor Sleep Prevents Brain From Storing Memories
Thursday January 24, 2013 @10:11AM Clay Shirky On Hackers and Depression: Where's the Love?
Thursday January 24, 2013 @08:58AM Billion-euro brain simulation and graphene projects win European funds
Tuesday January 22, 2013 @01:01PM Bomb Blasts Alter Brain Lipid Levels
Tuesday January 22, 2013 @08:54AM Why Ray Kurzweil's Google Project May Be Doomed To Fail
Monday January 21, 2013 @03:27PM Why Ray Kurzweil's Google Project May be Doomed to Fail
Friday January 18, 2013 @07:11PM Facebook Banter More Memorable Than Lines From Recent Books
Thursday January 10, 2013 @02:43PM NIH Neuroscientists: Junior Seau Had Brain Disease Caused By Hits To the Head
Thursday January 10, 2013 @11:16AM NIH neuroscientists: Junior Seau had brain disease caused by hits to the head
Tuesday January 08, 2013 @09:33AM America's Real Criminal Element: Lead
Tuesday January 01, 2013 @01:29PM Dr. Rita Levi-Montalcini, Nobel Winner, Dies At 103
Monday December 31, 2012 @01:36PM Dr. Rita Levi-Montalcini, Nobel Winner, Dies at 103
Sunday December 30, 2012 @08:43PM China's Controversial Brain Surgery To Cure Drug Addiction
Sunday December 30, 2012 @01:49PM China's Controversial Brain Surgery To Cure Drug Addiction
Thursday December 20, 2012 @01:18AM IQ 'a Myth,' Study Says
Saturday December 15, 2012 @12:42PM Spinal Fluid Chemical Levels Linked To Suicidal Behavior
Monday December 10, 2012 @12:23AM Brain Cells Made From Urine
Sunday December 09, 2012 @08:10PM Brain cells made from urine
Sunday December 09, 2012 @11:47AM Brain Pacemaker Helps Treat Alzheimer's Disease
Saturday December 08, 2012 @04:14PM Brain pacemaker helps treat Alzheimer's disease
Thursday December 06, 2012 @08:09PM Advertising May Soon Follow You From One Device To the Next
Tuesday December 04, 2012 @05:13PM Brain disease found in NFL players
Tuesday December 04, 2012 @10:13AM A Brain-Based Explanation For Why Old People Get Scammed
Wednesday November 28, 2012 @04:59AM Polymer implants could help heal brain injuries
Sunday November 25, 2012 @02:38PM Study Finds Similar Structures In the Universe, Internet, and Brain
Sunday November 25, 2012 @08:06AM Universe, human brain and Internet have similar structures
Wednesday November 21, 2012 @03:14PM Mysterious substance found in human brain
Tuesday November 20, 2012 @03:31AM IBM supercomputer used to simulate a typical human brain
Monday November 19, 2012 @02:42AM A Better Thought-Controlled Computer Cursor
Sunday November 18, 2012 @12:51PM Reading and Calculating With Your Unconscious
Saturday November 17, 2012 @02:37PM Newly Released Einstein Brain Photos Hint At the Anatomy of Genius
Friday November 16, 2012 @03:04PM Reading and calculating with your unconscious
Friday November 16, 2012 @07:49AM Brain scans of rappers and jazz musicians shed light on creativity
Thursday November 15, 2012 @09:31AM Study Claims Human Intelligence Peaked Two To Six Millennia Ago
Thursday November 15, 2012 @09:28AM Mind-Controlled Robot Avatars Inch Towards Reality
Wednesday November 14, 2012 @03:04AM Vegetative state man "talks" by brain scan
Tuesday November 13, 2012 @10:10AM Cockatoo Manufactures, Uses Tools
Tuesday November 13, 2012 @08:59AM Better Brain Implants With Ultrathin Carbon Fiber Electrodes
Monday November 12, 2012 @11:30PM Evidence for Unconscious Math, Language Processing Abilities
Monday November 12, 2012 @06:53PM Your Unconscious Brain Can Do Math, Process Language
Thursday November 01, 2012 @12:04PM Researchers Crown Buddhist Monk the World's Happiest Man
Wednesday October 31, 2012 @05:59PM Empathy Represses Analytic Thought, and Vice Versa
Monday October 29, 2012 @08:02PM Brain Scans Show the Impact of Neglect On a Child's Brain Size
Saturday October 20, 2012 @01:19AM Scientists Match Dream Images To Photos
Friday October 12, 2012 @05:04PM 520-Million-Year-Old Arthropod May Have Had the First Modern Brain
Wednesday October 10, 2012 @01:08PM The Cloud Will Expand Human Brain Capacity: Kurzweil
Saturday October 06, 2012 @01:27AM Google Puts Souped-Up Neural Networks To Work
Friday September 28, 2012 @09:25PM Free Font Helps People With Dyslexia
Tuesday September 25, 2012 @07:30PM Fast-Food Logos Burned Into Pleasure Center of Children's Brains
Tuesday September 25, 2012 @01:31PM "I'm Lovin' It": Fast-Food Logos 'Imprinted' in Children's Brains, Study Says
Friday September 21, 2012 @03:57PM Your Moral Compass Is Reversible
Wednesday September 19, 2012 @01:07PM DARPA Unveils System Using Human Brains For Computer Vision
Friday September 14, 2012 @06:10PM Monkeys Made Smarter With Prosthetic Device
Tuesday September 11, 2012 @08:52AM Researchers Create Short-term Memories In Rat Brains
Tuesday September 04, 2012 @12:19PM Ask Slashdot: Dealing With Disabilities In the Workplace?
Monday September 03, 2012 @03:28PM DNA Code Illuminates Rise of Brains
Saturday September 01, 2012 @11:49AM Drinking Too Much? Blame Your Glass
Thursday August 30, 2012 @12:23PM Weebots: Driveable Robots For Babies Who Need Them
Thursday August 30, 2012 @09:54AM Scientists Find Gene That Predicts Happiness In Women
Tuesday August 28, 2012 @09:11AM Study Shows Marijuana Use In Teens Correlates To Decreasing IQ
Thursday August 23, 2012 @01:41AM Music Memories Stored In Different Part of Brain Than Other Memories
Monday August 20, 2012 @01:29PM Total (Autobiographical) Recall
Friday August 17, 2012 @01:28PM Researchers Find 'Mind-Control' Gaming Headsets Can Leak Users' Secrets
Friday August 17, 2012 @09:24AM Prehistoric Human Brain Found Pickled In Bog
Friday August 10, 2012 @07:35PM How Pictures Skew Our Judgment
Sunday August 05, 2012 @12:38PM Scientists discovered a new avenue for the treatment of vision loss
Friday July 20, 2012 @11:22PM Analyzing Tweets To Identify Psychopaths
Tuesday July 10, 2012 @07:30AM Cat Parasite May Increase Risk of Suicide In Humans
Saturday July 07, 2012 @06:49PM fMRI Lets Israeli Student Control Robot In France With His Mind
Friday July 06, 2012 @03:10AM Robot Avatar Body Controlled By Thought
Thursday July 05, 2012 @08:27PM Implants May Improve Therapy For Neurological Disorders
Thursday July 05, 2012 @07:50AM Type With Your Brain — Like Stephen Hawking
Thursday July 05, 2012 @02:50AM Mind-Reading Invention Let's You Type With Your Brain
Wednesday July 04, 2012 @02:42PM Implants may improve therapy for neurological disorders
Tuesday June 26, 2012 @09:10AM Allen Institute Data Enables Hackathon For the Human Brain
Thursday June 07, 2012 @12:09PM Cognitive Software Identifies America's Brainiest Cities
Thursday May 31, 2012 @08:22AM Backyard Brains Can Help Satisfy Your Inner Frankenstein (Video)
Tuesday May 15, 2012 @09:12AM "Brainput" Boosts Your Brain Power By Offloading Multitasking To a Computer
Friday May 11, 2012 @07:42PM Nicholas Carr Foresees Brains Optimized For Browsing
Tuesday May 08, 2012 @08:12AM Did a Genome Copying Mistake Lead To Human Intelligence?
Friday May 04, 2012 @07:47AM Growing Evidence of Football Causing Brain Damage
Wednesday May 02, 2012 @12:03PM New study: Exercise and computer use combination may fight memory loss
Saturday April 21, 2012 @11:25PM Eating Meat Helped Early Humans Reproduce
Friday April 20, 2012 @08:42PM Computer Game Designed To Treat Depression As Effective As Traditional Treatment
Thursday April 19, 2012 @09:05AM Researchers Try To Identify the Intelligence Gene
Thursday April 19, 2012 @07:17AM Surgery-Simulating Dummy Allows Doctors To Develop Skills
Saturday April 14, 2012 @09:26PM Treating depression with electrodes inside the brain
Tuesday April 10, 2012 @12:29PM Dental X-Rays Linked To Common Brain Tumor
Friday March 23, 2012 @09:00AM MIT discovers the location of memories: Individual neurons
Thursday March 22, 2012 @04:41PM Researchers May Have Discovered How Memories Are Encoded In the Brain
Thursday March 22, 2012 @09:55AM Researchers May Have Discovered How Memories are Encoded in the Brain

Every successful person has had failures but repeated failure is no guarantee of eventual success.

 



Forgot your password?
Working...