Forgot your password?

Slashdot Items Tagged "privacy"

Date / TimeStory
Thursday August 28, 2014 @05:58PM The Executive Order That Led To Mass Spying, As Told By NSA Alumni
Tuesday August 26, 2014 @02:45PM DoxBox: Open-Source disk encryption for Windows
Monday August 25, 2014 @06:27PM 850 Billion NSA Surveillance Records Searchable By Domestic Law Enforcement
Monday August 25, 2014 @10:16AM Systems That Can Secretly Track Where Cellphone Users Go Around the Globe
Sunday August 24, 2014 @01:45PM Sources Say Amazon Will Soon Be Targeting Ads, a la Google AdWords
Wednesday August 20, 2014 @08:39AM Your Phone Can Be Snooped On Using Its Gyroscope
Tuesday August 19, 2014 @12:11PM Why Chinese Hackers Would Want US Hospital Patient Data
Monday August 18, 2014 @07:58PM Hackers Steal Data Of 4.5 Million US Hospital Patients
Saturday August 16, 2014 @01:36AM Apple Begins Storing Chinese User Data On Servers In China
Thursday August 14, 2014 @07:38PM How Drones Entered the FBI's Spying Toolkit
Thursday August 14, 2014 @03:00PM Google Expands Safe Browsing To Block Unwanted Downloads
Thursday August 14, 2014 @09:11AM Ryan Lackey, Marc Rogers Reveal Inexpensive Tor Router Project At Def Con
Monday August 11, 2014 @10:20PM DEA Paid Amtrak Employee To Pilfer Passenger Lists
Monday August 11, 2014 @11:56AM China Smartphone Maker Xiaomi Apologizes For Unauthorized Data Access
Monday August 11, 2014 @08:32AM San Jose Police Apologize For Hiding Drone Program, Halts Until Further Review
Sunday August 10, 2014 @12:30PM Silent Circle's Blackphone Exploited at Def Con
Saturday August 09, 2014 @08:56PM John McAfee Airs His Beefs About Privacy In Def Con Surprise Talk
Saturday August 09, 2014 @06:00PM F-Secure: Xiaomi Smartphones Do Secretly Steal Your Data
Friday August 08, 2014 @05:45PM Leaked Docs Show Spyware Used To Snoop On US Computers
Friday August 08, 2014 @02:52PM Russia Cracks Down On Public Wi-Fi; Oracle Blocks Java Downloads In Russia
Thursday August 07, 2014 @08:32PM UK Police Won't Comment On The Tracking of People's Phone Calls
Thursday August 07, 2014 @08:37AM Mozilla Dumps Info of 76,000 Developers To Public Web Server
Thursday August 07, 2014 @08:34AM Snowden Granted 3 More Years of Russian Residency
Thursday August 07, 2014 @08:18AM City of London Police Take Down Proxy Service Over Piracy Concerns
Wednesday August 06, 2014 @05:23PM Ask Slashdot: Datacenter HDD Wipe Policy?
Wednesday August 06, 2014 @09:33AM Alleged Massive Account and Password Seizure By Russian Group
Wednesday August 06, 2014 @08:47AM 40% Of People On Terror Watch List Have No Terrorist Ties
Tuesday August 05, 2014 @08:54AM Leaked Docs Offer Win 8 Tip: FinFisher Spyware Can't Tap Skype's Metro App
Monday August 04, 2014 @02:31PM Want To Work Without Prying Eyes? Try Wearing a Body Sock
Sunday August 03, 2014 @09:31PM Google Spots Explicit Images of a Child In Man's Email, Tips Off Police
Friday August 01, 2014 @12:49PM The CIA Does Las Vegas
Friday August 01, 2014 @09:20AM Judge: US Search Warrants Apply To Overseas Computers
Thursday July 31, 2014 @02:19PM UK Government Report Recommends Ending Online Anonymity
Monday July 28, 2014 @12:07AM Ask Slashdot: Preparing an Android Tablet For Resale?
Saturday July 26, 2014 @09:20AM Private Data On iOS Devices Not So Private After All
Friday July 25, 2014 @07:28PM FBI Studied How Much Drones Impact Your Privacy -- Then Marked It Secret
Thursday July 24, 2014 @11:44AM Sony Agrees To $17.75m Settlement For 2011 PSN Attack
Thursday July 24, 2014 @09:20AM Dutch Court Says Government Can Receive Bulk Data from NSA
Wednesday July 23, 2014 @06:26PM Verizon's Offer: Let Us Track You, Get Free Stuff
Wednesday July 23, 2014 @06:16PM Dropbox Head Responds To Snowden Claims About Privacy
Tuesday July 22, 2014 @08:09AM A New Form of Online Tracking: Canvas Fingerprinting
Monday July 21, 2014 @09:28PM The Loophole Obscuring Facebook and Google's Transparency Reports
Monday July 21, 2014 @06:15PM Researcher Finds Hidden Data-Dumping Services In iOS
Monday July 21, 2014 @09:07AM New York Judge OKs Warrant To Search Entire Gmail Account
Sunday July 20, 2014 @10:59PM Snowden Seeks To Develop Anti-Surveillance Technologies
Sunday July 20, 2014 @03:51PM Ars Editor Learns Feds Have His Old IP Addresses, Full Credit Card Numbers
Friday July 18, 2014 @08:59PM Australian Website Waits Three Years To Inform Customers of Data Breach
Friday July 18, 2014 @06:36PM UK Government Faces Lawsuit Over Emergency Surveillance Bill
Thursday July 17, 2014 @11:31AM UN Report Finds NSA Mass Surveillance Likely Violated Human Rights
Wednesday July 16, 2014 @06:09PM Canadian ISP On Disclosing Subscriber Info: Come Back With a Warrant
Wednesday July 16, 2014 @08:39AM Breaches Exposed 22.8 Million Personal Records of New Yorkers
Tuesday July 15, 2014 @12:36AM Obama Administration Says the World's Servers Are Ours
Monday July 14, 2014 @03:56PM Hacking Online Polls and Other Ways British Spies Seek To Control the Internet
Monday July 14, 2014 @09:28AM Apple Refutes Report On iPhone Threat To China's National Security
Sunday July 13, 2014 @11:45AM NSA Says Snowden Emails Exempt From Public Disclosure
Thursday July 10, 2014 @09:29AM UK Gov't Plans To Push "Emergency" Surveillance Laws
Wednesday July 09, 2014 @11:12PM Judge Shoots Down "Bitcoin Isn't Money" Argument In Silk Road Trial
Wednesday July 09, 2014 @11:10AM Meet the Muslim-American Leaders the FBI and NSA Have Been Spying On
Tuesday July 08, 2014 @11:43AM Thousands of Leaked KGB Files Are Now Open To the Public
Tuesday July 08, 2014 @11:12AM Coddled, Surveilled, and Monetized: How Modern Houses Can Watch You
Tuesday July 08, 2014 @08:41AM Australian Police Use Telcos For Cell "Tower Dump" of All Connected Users' Data
Monday July 07, 2014 @09:12PM Blue Shield Leaks 18,000 Doctors' Social Security Numbers
Monday July 07, 2014 @04:23PM Researchers Develop New Way To Steal Passwords Using Google Glass
Sunday July 06, 2014 @10:30AM New Snowden Leak: of 160000 Intercepted Messages, Only 10% From Official Targets
Friday July 04, 2014 @11:02PM New Russian Law To Forbid Storing Russians' Data Outside the Country
Thursday July 03, 2014 @11:11PM European Commission Spokesman: Google Removing Link Was "not a Good Judgement"
Thursday July 03, 2014 @06:21PM Can the NSA Really Track You Through Power Lines?
Thursday July 03, 2014 @02:46PM NSA Considers Linux Journal Readers, Tor (And Linux?) Users "Extremists"
Thursday July 03, 2014 @01:07PM Austrian Tor Exit Node Operator Found Guilty As an Accomplice
Thursday July 03, 2014 @09:06AM Goldman Sachs Demands Google Unsend One of Its E-mails
Tuesday July 01, 2014 @10:08AM Court Allowed NSA To Spy On All But 4 Countries
Monday June 30, 2014 @03:59PM Supreme Court Rejects Appeal By Google Over Street View Data Collection
Monday June 30, 2014 @03:15AM Ars Takes an Early Look At the Privacy-Centric Blackphone
Sunday June 29, 2014 @11:58AM Facial Recognition Might Be Coming To Your Car
Friday June 27, 2014 @11:26PM Larry Page: Healthcare Data Mining Could Save 100,000 Lives a Year
Friday June 27, 2014 @06:37PM Saudi Government Targeting Dissidents With Mobile Malware
Thursday June 26, 2014 @10:37PM Google Starts Removing Search Results After EU Ruling
Thursday June 26, 2014 @09:49AM Hospitals Begin Data-Mining Patients
Wednesday June 25, 2014 @09:43PM Australian Government Seeks To Boost Spy Agencies' Powers
Wednesday June 25, 2014 @12:36PM Supreme Court Rules Cell Phones Can't Be Searched Without a Warrant
Tuesday June 24, 2014 @08:36AM US Court Dings Gov't For Using Seized Data Beyond Scope of Warrant
Monday June 23, 2014 @07:52PM Improperly Anonymized Logs Reveal Details of NYC Cab Trips
Monday June 23, 2014 @10:05AM New Sensors Will Scoop Up "Big Data" On Chicago
Sunday June 22, 2014 @06:39PM Workplace Surveillance Becoming More Common
Sunday June 22, 2014 @12:56PM WikiLeaks Publishes Secret International Trade Agreement
Thursday June 19, 2014 @08:41PM German Intel Agency Helped NSA Tap Fiber Optic Cables In Germany
Thursday June 19, 2014 @05:49PM How Secret Partners Expand NSA's Surveillance Dragnet
Thursday June 19, 2014 @10:05AM TrueCrypt Author Claims That Forking Is Impossible
Thursday June 19, 2014 @09:05AM Ask Slashdot: How To Bequeath Sensitive Information?
Wednesday June 18, 2014 @09:39AM EU High Court To Review US-EU Data Safe Harbor Agreement
Tuesday June 17, 2014 @08:54AM Hackers Ransom European Domino's Customer Data (including Favourite Toppings)
Tuesday June 17, 2014 @07:25AM France Cries Foul At World Cup "Spy Drone"
Monday June 16, 2014 @11:33PM Help Crowd-FOIA Stingray Usage Across America
Sunday June 15, 2014 @09:40PM Judge Orders DOJ To Turn Over FISA Surveillance Documents
Saturday June 14, 2014 @06:39PM Transforming the Web Into a Transparent 'HTTPA' Database
Saturday June 14, 2014 @09:41AM Nominet Compromising UK WHOIS Privacy, Wants To See Gov't-Issued ID
Friday June 13, 2014 @12:17AM No Cell Phone Tracking Without Warrant
Thursday June 12, 2014 @02:37PM Facebook Lets Users Opt Out of Targeted Ads
Wednesday June 11, 2014 @06:04PM The Government Can No Longer Track Your Cell Phone Without a Warrant
Tuesday June 10, 2014 @10:26AM NSA's Novel Claim: Our Systems Are Too Complex To Obey the Law
Monday June 09, 2014 @10:44PM iOS 8 Strikes an Unexpected Blow Against Location Tracking
Monday June 09, 2014 @05:34PM After the Belfast Project Fiasco, Time For Another Look At Time Capsule Crypto?
Monday June 09, 2014 @08:46AM Replicating the NSA's Gadgets Using Open Source
Monday June 09, 2014 @07:33AM Did Russia Trick Snowden Into Going To Moscow?
Friday June 06, 2014 @11:05PM Vodafone: Governments Worldwide Collecting Customers' Personal Data
Friday June 06, 2014 @09:13PM 'Pop-Up' Bus Service Learns Boston Riders' Rhythms, Creates Routes Accordingly
Thursday June 05, 2014 @10:42PM Snowden Rallies Privacy Advocates In New York City
Thursday June 05, 2014 @06:09PM FTC Lobbies To Be Top Cop For Geolocation
Thursday June 05, 2014 @05:34PM US Marshals Seize Police Stingray Records To Keep Them From the ACLU
Thursday June 05, 2014 @05:31PM FSF publishes Email Self-Defense Guide and infographic
Thursday June 05, 2014 @01:28PM A Year After Snowden's Disclosures, EFF, FSF Want You To Fight Surveillance
Thursday June 05, 2014 @01:07PM AT&T To Use Phone Geolocation To Prevent Credit Card Fraud
Wednesday June 04, 2014 @06:32PM Google Has Received Over 41,000 Requests To "Forget" Personal Information
Wednesday June 04, 2014 @06:20PM EFF Tells Court That the NSA Knowingly and Illegally Destroyed Evidence
Wednesday June 04, 2014 @12:20PM US Secret Service Wants To Identify Snark
Sunday June 01, 2014 @03:51PM NSA Collecting Millions of Faces From Web Images
Sunday June 01, 2014 @02:22AM New Federal Database Will Track Americans' Credit Ratings, Other Financial Info
Saturday May 31, 2014 @10:30PM LAPD Gets Some Hand-Me-Down Drones From Seattle, Promises Discretion
Saturday May 31, 2014 @10:02AM Thousands of Europeans Petition For Their 'Right To Be Forgotten'
Friday May 30, 2014 @09:19PM German Intelligence Agency Planning To Follow Big NSA Brother On Shoestring
Thursday May 29, 2014 @09:19AM Mutant Registration vs. Vaccine Registration
Wednesday May 28, 2014 @11:09AM German Authorities Lack Evidence To Prosecute Anyone For NSA Spying
Wednesday May 28, 2014 @12:09AM Why Snowden Did Right
Tuesday May 27, 2014 @12:23PM Iran Court Summons Mark Zuckerberg For Facebook Privacy Violations
Saturday May 24, 2014 @09:43PM German Court Rules That You Can't Keep Compromising Photos After a Break-Up
Thursday May 22, 2014 @06:30PM NSA Surveillance Reform Bill Passes House 303 Votes To 121
Wednesday May 21, 2014 @11:23AM Declining LG's New Ad-friendly Privacy Policy Removes Features From Smart TVs
Tuesday May 20, 2014 @11:14AM Controversial TSA Nudie X-Ray Machines Sent To Prisons
Monday May 19, 2014 @09:25PM The US Vs. Europe: Freedom of Expression Vs. Privacy
Monday May 19, 2014 @04:38PM The NSA Is Recording Every Cell Phone Call In the Bahamas
Monday May 19, 2014 @09:10AM US To Charge Chinese Military Employees With Hacking
Monday May 19, 2014 @08:18AM Cisco Complains To Obama About NSA Adding Spyware To Routers
Saturday May 17, 2014 @04:09PM The Big Biz of Spying On Little Kids
Friday May 16, 2014 @12:39PM Gen. Keith Alexander On Metadata, Snowden, and the NSA: "We're At Greater Risk"
Friday May 16, 2014 @11:03AM EFF: Amazon, AT&T, and Snapchat Most Likely To Rat On You To the Gov't
Thursday May 15, 2014 @06:55PM Pedophile Asks To Be Deleted From Google Search After European Court Ruling
Thursday May 15, 2014 @09:30AM IACR Finally Gets Around To Repudiating Mass Surveillance
Wednesday May 14, 2014 @06:02PM Sony To Make Movie of Edward Snowden Story
Wednesday May 14, 2014 @10:53AM RFC 7258: Pervasive Monitoring Is an Attack
Tuesday May 13, 2014 @05:49PM Microsoft Finally Selling Xbox One Without Kinect
Tuesday May 13, 2014 @08:37AM EU Court of Justice Paves Way For "Right To Be Forgotten" Online
Monday May 12, 2014 @08:06PM New Zealand Spy Agency To Vet Network Builds, Provider Staff
Monday May 12, 2014 @04:09PM Glenn Greenwald: How the NSA Tampers With US Made Internet Routers
Sunday May 11, 2014 @08:43AM Anti-Surveillance Mask Lets You Pass As Someone Else
Friday May 09, 2014 @10:42PM Physician Operates On Server, Costs His Hospital $4.8 Million
Thursday May 08, 2014 @05:39PM Take a Picture: Snapchat Settles With FTC Over "Dissapearing" Claims
Thursday May 08, 2014 @11:45AM Apple Can Extract Texts, Photos, Contacts From Locked iPhones
Wednesday May 07, 2014 @11:28PM ACLU and EFF Endorse Weaker USA Freedom Act Passed By Committee
Wednesday May 07, 2014 @11:10PM London Police To Wear Video Cameras In Pilot Project
Tuesday May 06, 2014 @11:18AM Police Departments Using Car Tracking Database Sworn To Secrecy
Monday May 05, 2014 @01:12PM Researchers See a Post-Snowden Chilling Effect In Our Search Data
Monday May 05, 2014 @09:10AM Kerry Says US Is On the "Right Side of History" When It Comes To Online Freedom
Sunday May 04, 2014 @07:22PM Help EFF Test a New Tool To Stop Creepy Online Tracking
Sunday May 04, 2014 @03:32AM Some Users Find Swype Keyboard App Makes 4000+ Location Requests Per Day
Sunday May 04, 2014 @01:14AM Opting Out of Big Data Snooping: Harder Than It Looks
Saturday May 03, 2014 @09:23AM VHS-Era Privacy Law Still Causing Headaches For Streaming Video
Friday May 02, 2014 @07:37PM Reason Suggests DoJ Closing Porn Stars' Bank Accounts
Thursday May 01, 2014 @09:18AM DarkMarket, the Decentralized Answer To Silk Road, Is About More Than Just Drugs
Thursday May 01, 2014 @08:41AM Google Halts Gmail Scanning for Education Apps Users
Wednesday April 30, 2014 @09:05PM British Spy Chiefs Secretly Begged To Play In NSA's Data Pools
Sunday April 27, 2014 @03:01PM DOJ Complains About Getting a Warrant To Search Mobile Phones
Sunday April 27, 2014 @01:47PM Mathematicians Push Back Against the NSA
Friday April 25, 2014 @10:32AM Google's Business Plan For Nest: Selling Your Data To Utility Companies
Friday April 25, 2014 @10:10AM Identity Dominance: the US Military's Biometric War In Afghanistan
Thursday April 24, 2014 @11:05PM Facebook Data Miner Will Shock You
Thursday April 24, 2014 @10:09AM Anonymous' Airchat Aim: Communication Without Need For Phone Or Internet
Wednesday April 23, 2014 @10:21PM Australian Law Enforcement Pushes Against Encryption, Advocates Data Retention
Wednesday April 23, 2014 @09:19AM Supreme Court OKs Stop and Search Based On Anonymous 911 Tips
Monday April 21, 2014 @07:03PM Eyes Over Compton: How Police Spied On a Whole City
Monday April 21, 2014 @12:22AM Snowden to Critics: Questioning Putin Has Opened Conversation About Surveillance
Sunday April 20, 2014 @12:11PM Cody Wilson Interview at Reason: Happiness Is a 3D Printed Gun
Sunday April 20, 2014 @12:11AM OpenSSL Cleanup: Hundreds of Commits In a Week
Saturday April 19, 2014 @09:42PM New 'Google' For the Dark Web Makes Buying Dope and Guns Easy
Saturday April 19, 2014 @09:29PM Preventative Treatment For Heartbleed On Healthcare.gov
Thursday April 17, 2014 @06:41PM New Facebook Phone App Lets You Stalk Your Friends
Thursday April 17, 2014 @02:38PM Tor Blacklisting Exit Nodes Vulnerable To Heartbleed
Thursday April 17, 2014 @12:59PM Snowden Queries Putin On Live TV Regarding Russian Internet Surveillance
Thursday April 17, 2014 @10:18AM RCMP Arrest Canadian Teen For Heartbleed Exploit
Thursday April 17, 2014 @12:36AM Student Records Kids Who Bully Him, Then Gets Threatened With Wiretapping Charge
Wednesday April 16, 2014 @10:05PM FBI Drone Deployment Timeline
Thursday April 10, 2014 @11:56PM Canada Introduces Privacy Reforms That Encourage Warrantless Disclosure of Info
Thursday April 10, 2014 @05:12PM Google Chrome Flaw Sets Your PC's Mic Live
Thursday April 10, 2014 @04:54PM London's Public Bike Data Can Tell Everyone Where You've Been
Thursday April 10, 2014 @02:50PM Double Take: Condoleezza Rice As Dropbox's Newest Board Member
Tuesday April 08, 2014 @09:55AM European Court of Justice Strikes Down Data Retention Law
Monday April 07, 2014 @06:27PM U.S. Supreme Court Declines To Rule On Constitutionality of Bulk Surveillance
Sunday April 06, 2014 @04:01PM Why No Executive Order To Stop NSA Metadata Collection?
Saturday April 05, 2014 @05:44PM Why No One Trusts Facebook To Power the Future
Saturday April 05, 2014 @12:17PM CryptoPhone Sales Jump To 100,000+, Even at $3500
Thursday April 03, 2014 @01:43PM China Cracks Down On Bitcoin, Cuts Off Exchanges' Bank Access
Wednesday April 02, 2014 @11:42PM Ad Tracking: Is Anything Being Done?
Monday March 31, 2014 @11:00AM NSA Infiltrated RSA Deeper Than Imagined
Sunday March 30, 2014 @10:54PM Dropbox's New Policy of Scanning Files For DMCA Issues
Sunday March 30, 2014 @10:51PM New Australian Privacy Laws Could Have Ramifications On Google Glass
Friday March 28, 2014 @11:13PM Microsoft Promises Not To Snoop Through Email
Thursday March 27, 2014 @10:42PM DOJ Pushes to Expand Hacking Abilities Against Cyber-Criminals
Thursday March 27, 2014 @10:19AM Minnesota Teen Wins Settlement After School Takes Facebook Password
Thursday March 27, 2014 @08:44AM Weev's Attorney Says FBI Is Intercepting His Client's Mail
Monday March 24, 2014 @11:47PM White House To Propose Ending NSA Phone Records Collection
Sunday March 23, 2014 @06:24PM L.A. Police: All Cars In L.A. Are Under Investigation

I wish you humans would leave me alone.

 



Forgot your password?
Working...