Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
First Person Shooters (Games) Entertainment Games

Duke Nukem Forever Preview On Jace Hall Show 341

Posted by timothy
from the you-have-no-idea-how-much-I-care dept.
An anonymous reader writes "The Jace Hall Show launched today on Sony's Crackle with a real gameplay preview of Duke Nukem Forever. Jace Hall is a former video game producer and Warner Bros exec and apparently this is his foray into online celebrity. DNF is 12 years in development ... it might be real after all." And if you have had enough self-indulgent gaming-news patter, another reader says "If you want to simply skip right ahead, it's about 4:20 in."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Duke Nukem Forever Preview On Jace Hall Show

Comments Filter:
  • by Opportunist (166417) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @09:56PM (#23677443)
    Never. Because it will bomb.

    Why? What if it's good? Doesn't matter. It can't live up to the expectations. However good it may be, somewhere in the resume there will be the line "well, it has X, but after Y years of waiting, you could expect something more than just Z, and they could have taken that extra months to iron out the W".
    • by Quinn_Inuit (760445) <Quinn_Inuit@yEIN ... minus physicist> on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:00PM (#23677477)
      You mean people still expect video games to have some sort of quality control done to them prior to launch? Wow. I always wait a year to get a new game. MOO3 I waited about three years and the fans were _still_ patching it. (They did a really good job, though.)
      • Re: (Score:2, Insightful)

        by billcopc (196330)
        Patching it ?

        You mean, they replaced it with Dosbox and Moo2 ?

        I anticipated Moo3 for a long time, and when it finally happened I was irreparably disappointed. I didn't have too much issue with the bugs, I just thought they butchered the whole game by making it even more boring than the Democracy games. Too much administrative bullshit, not enough exploding-alien-ship action.
        • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

          by paganizer (566360)
          MOO3 was the only game I've ever pre-ordered. I owned a game store back in what I considered "The Golden Age", and had copies of MOM, MOO, MOO2 and XCOM (although mine was called UFO: Enemy Unknown; got them from England to beat the other U.S. Retailers. I have a unopened 3.5" retail box on my shelf, BTW). I'd reread the reviews a zillion times, and it sounded like they really had it. Gods. I played it. once. for about 2 hours. Tried it again briefly the next day, hoping I had hallucinated it. Nope. sucked.
    • by RamsÚs Morales (13327) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:14PM (#23677593)
      It will never live up to the expectations, but if it is good and fun, people will buy it. But I guess that no game can be profitable after 12 years of development.
      • by irtza (893217)
        development? is that what you think they were doing? How about enjoying themselves off the profits from their first titles? My guess is the good times for them are coming to an end and they are back at work... or just bored and realized they enjoy what they are doing... personally I think they were prob responsible for half the /. DNF meme jokes... but I could be underestimating... and the oblig I will believe this when after Duke Nukem Forever comes out!
      • by Sitnalta (1051230) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @11:55PM (#23678265)
        Team Fortress 2 was in development hell for 9 years. Not only did it live up to the expectations, it exceeded them.

        Sometimes extremely long development phases are due to the company making the best damned product they possibly can and not accepting second rate. Anybody can shit out a video game in a few years, but it takes a long time to make something that's truly good. Especially if the developer wants to make something that's fun to play and has interesting visuals. Instead of just FPS #54936-B
        • Re: (Score:2, Funny)

          by Yvan256 (722131)
          Man, FPS #54936-B was crap. I wish they'd make something at least half as good as FPS #1648-C, but it's been so long that I've given up hope.

        • by budgenator (254554) on Friday June 06, 2008 @12:27AM (#23678495) Journal
          yeah that sounds good. Games are like computers, every time you think you've got the optimum price to performance ratio, there a new breakthrough so you start over refactor for the new tech. There is a saying "The road to failure is paved with perfection, The road to success is paved with good-enough".
      • by TubeSteak (669689) on Friday June 06, 2008 @12:24AM (#23678477) Journal

        But I guess that no game can be profitable after 12 years of development.
        They could update Duke Nukem 3D & Shadow Warrior to run on the new engine.

        Toss them in a box and charge $10~$25 for the pair of games.
        Offer $5 off if you buy it with DN: Forever
    • by lilfields (961485) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:30PM (#23677717) Homepage
      I think this is known as Doom 3 syndrome...I remember it being pumped at Quakecon for years...then I got a multiplayer preview...which was fun...then finally the game was released...and I never actually finished the single player. The multiplayer is actually kind of fun...and my friend made a really cool mod. Anyhow that's irrelevant, the moral to the story is that Doom 3's single player was completely disappointing, though in all actuality it probably wasn't that bad...but my expectations were set so high after getting the leaked alpha E3 demo...that it just wasn't enjoyable. I did buy it though...I'd expect the same of Duke Nukem Forever.
      • by Apathist (741707) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @11:47PM (#23678225)

        though in all actuality it probably wasn't that bad...
        No, it's OK, it really was that bad.

        It's one thing to have things teleporting into a room when you first arrive there (a la Doom 1), but it is entirely another thing to have some monster waiting in some tiny, undetectable compartment, ignoring you until you've walked past it exactly 7 times. The irrationality of such rubbish spoiled the immersion, and thus the game...
        • by cbreaker (561297)
          I didn't think it was that bad. I thought Doom 3 was pretty good single-player, actually. It was the first decent game to do real lighting and I enjoyed exploring around dark areas with a flashlight casting pretty realistic looking shadows and stuff. It would even startle you at some points.

          The thing I didn't like was that later in the game, it just got impossible. A challenge is good, but having to repeat a part of the game 50 times to get past some retardedly hard area isn't fun.
        • Re: (Score:3, Interesting)

          by Hal_Porter (817932)

          It's one thing to have things teleporting into a room when you first arrive there (a la Doom 1), but it is entirely another thing to have some monster waiting in some tiny, undetectable compartment, ignoring you until you've walked past it exactly 7 times. The irrationality of such rubbish spoiled the immersion, and thus the game...
          Didn't Duke Nukem 3D spoof this with the monster in the toilet?
      • I always felt that the leaked E3 alpha was actually scarier and more fun than the finished product we finally received.
    • Re: (Score:2, Interesting)

      by deepershade (994429)
      Incorrect. Everyone expects it to bomb. You're not alone in your opinion. Everyone expresses that they believe the game will suck, therefore, it won't take all that much to live up to the expectations.
    • Re: (Score:2, Interesting)

      As long as this game has been in development unless it is heralded in by the second coming of Christ himself it will be a let down. I also have no thrill in the possibility of having to explain to kids I teach about the humor and what the gamers of my generation thought was awesome back in the mid 90's.
    • by Machtyn (759119)
      What expectations? After 12 years in development what *new* idea can they put into a shooter that 50 other FPS haven't already done? I'm not saying there isn't room for innovation, I'm saying for Duke, they're working on a franchise 12 years old - something that was released in another day and age. They'll have to redesign Duke. Actually, I would call the game Serious Sam the next gen Duke.

      In any case, I think the people who are old enough to have remembered Duke are probably: jaded, weathered, experien
    • by SanityInAnarchy (655584) <ninja@slaphack.com> on Friday June 06, 2008 @03:24AM (#23679245) Journal
      Delayed, over and over... Multiple trailers and gameplay videos shown, some with features that never made it into the actual game, most of which were just cool, and made you want the game now...

      Original game was a bestseller, a genre-defining blockbuster, with the kind of ending that demands a sequel... Sequel came out ten years after the original, and was at least five years in development. I'd expect the anticipation would be at least as hard to match.

      Can you guess?

      Half-Life 2.

      Oh, and they did it again, to a lesser extent, with Team Fortress 2.

      Now, it's possible Duke Nukem Forever may never be released. Maybe it will be a Windows Vista, and suck so much that most people would rather play Duke Nukem 3D.

      But I see no reason why it couldn't be released, and be every bit what we expect -- especially when most of us don't have expectations much higher than yours.
    • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

      by Yvanhoe (564877)
      What ? Some people still expect something from it ?
  • by porkmusket (954006) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @09:57PM (#23677455) Homepage
    If I can play with em, they're real. I can't play DNF, so it's not.
  • by wizardforce (1005805) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @09:59PM (#23677469) Journal
    Great, if we do actually get to see Duke Nukem forever for sure... in our hands... what will replace the ever popular Duke Nukem Forever vaporware meme? Spore?
  • by Centurix (249778) <centurix.gmail@com> on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:02PM (#23677489) Homepage
    My cubicle is a steady 23C, hell certainly hasn't frozen over yet.
  • OK, I'll bite... (Score:3, Insightful)

    by mangu (126918) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:03PM (#23677501)
    I suppose it will run on a Linux Desktop, right? And the online edition will run from a secure Windows server...

    • Re: (Score:2, Funny)

      by wizardforce (1005805)

      I suppose it will run on a Linux Desktop, right? And the online edition will run from a secure Open Source Windows server...
      There fixed that for you
      • by setagllib (753300)
        ReactOS can already be used as a server. Well, if you own any of the 5 devices it supports.

        Alright alright I'm just kidding.

        3 devices.
  • Awww... (Score:5, Funny)

    by commodoresloat (172735) * on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:07PM (#23677531)
    And so soon after it made the list [pcworld.com].
  • by dollar99 (922389) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:12PM (#23677571) Homepage
    The bikini models are at 5:14 into the video. I'm not kidding.
  • by cptnapalm (120276) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:12PM (#23677573)
    Upon entering the final level, you realize that it all looks suspiciously familiar...

    It is the first level!

    The game is an infinite loop!

    You have to play Duke Nukem forever!
  • by definate (876684) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:23PM (#23677647)
    There are a few pros and cons to releasing Duke Nukem Forever.

    When it is released, we will be able to play Duke Nukem Forever, which by this time, better be awesome!

    However, after it is released we then lose a lot of Duke Nukem Forever jokes. We will have to put thought into what will take its place in Wired News's Vaporware Awards.

    The post-Duke Nukem Forever released world, will be vastly different to what we know today... and that makes me scared.
  • by Renderer of Evil (604742) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:42PM (#23677825) Homepage
    "12 YEARS in the Making"

    "Most Anticipated Game of Last 3 Generations."

    "If You thought Duke Nukem 3D (1996) was good... then HOLD ON TO YOUR COCKS!"

    This will be an amazing hit with people who went into coma a decade ago and the last thing they remember was playing Duke Nukem with their Voodoo 3 card.

    • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday June 05, 2008 @10:55PM (#23677901)
      Duke3d was software rendered, the voodoo 3 didnt even exist until nearly 4 years later.

      Stop pretending you were allowed to touch daddys pc ;)
  • by Nim82 (838705) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @11:00PM (#23677929)
    ...but what about the dopefish?
  • by rlp (11898)
    Maybe. Just maybe it's real. Yeah, and maybe I'm a Chinese jet pilot.
  • Repent! (Score:5, Funny)

    by JesseL (107722) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @11:11PM (#23678013) Homepage Journal
    The end times are near.

    The release of DNF has been foretold as the final harbinger of the end times. When the Final Duke goes gold, the seventh seal shall be broken and all the gamers shall cry out and lament that their RAM is insufficient and their video cards unworthy.
  • by SpacePunk (17960) on Thursday June 05, 2008 @11:13PM (#23678019) Homepage
    On the Phantom, no less.
  • by 6350' (936630) on Friday June 06, 2008 @12:36AM (#23678551)
    Oddly enough, a sufficient amount of time has passed to let the ghost of oldschool Duke Nukem fade away. The result is that, much in the same way that TF2 took so freaking long that the people originally looking forward to it grew up, got jobs, had kids, joined the Masons, and died - leaving a largely new batch of people who weren't that familiar with the original context the game arose from. So to with DNF, I suspect. Let's be honest here - the average 22 year old kid who sees a review of DNF on some game site in six months isnt going to have the 12 years of expectation and context that the rest of us might have. The result? I suspect DNF will actually do just fine. We all went from growing expectations over time, to mocking it, to effectively forgetting about it and moving on. DNF is now a game for a new wodge of users, who won't be all that familiar with its history. DNF has gone on long enough that, like TF2, the clock has actually kind of reset.
    • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

      by TFer_Atvar (857303)
      Not really. Because DNF has become a grand in-joke and no community spreads in-jokes as well as computer/gamer nerds, even folks my little sibling's age (5 years old at DN3D release) are familiar with the story and jokes. If you're at all a part of the gaming community, you know the story.
  • by Cochonou (576531) on Friday June 06, 2008 @02:24AM (#23678987) Homepage
    Yeah !
    That was about time we saw such a gun in another game than a sprite-based First Person Shooter.
  • No surprise (Score:3, Funny)

    by greg1104 (461138) <gsmith@gregsmith.com> on Friday June 06, 2008 @02:35AM (#23679043) Homepage

    If you want to simply skip right ahead, it's about 4:20 in


    I'd wager there was a lot of 4:20 time influencing how long of a delay it's been for this title to be completed.

2.4 statute miles of surgical tubing at Yale U. = 1 I.V.League

Working...